Orioles announce 2012 Grapefruit League schedule

November 29, 2011 | WNST Staff


The Orioles Tuesday announced their 2012 Grapefruit League schedule, which opens March 5 with an afternoon split-squad contest in Port Charlotte against the Tampa Bay Rays and an evening contest at Ed Smith Stadium in Sarasota against the Pittsburgh Pirates.

2012 marks the third consecutive spring training for the Orioles in Sarasota, and the second in the renovated Ed Smith Stadium.

Baltimore will face 10 different opponents at home during the 2012 Grapefruit League campaign, including the Boston Red Sox three times and the Minnesota Twins, Pittsburgh Pirates and Tampa Bay Rays two times each. The Atlanta Braves, Detroit Tigers, New York Yankees, Philadelphia Phillies, Toronto Blue Jays and Washington Nationals will each make one visit to Ed Smith Stadium.

The Orioles will play 15 games on the road during the 2012 Grapefruit League schedule. They will make two trips to play the Blue Jays, Phillies, Rays, Red Sox, Twins and Pirates and one trip to face the Braves, Tigers and Yankees.

The Orioles will also host Florida Southern College April 2 in Sarasota.

Fans interested in season plans, five-game flex packs or group tickets, or those wishing to receive additional spring training ticket information may visit www.orioles.com/spring or call the Orioles spring training office in Sarasota at 941-893-6300.

The on-sale date for single game tickets for all 15 of the Orioles’ Grapefruit League games at Ed Smith Stadium, as well as player reporting dates, will be announced at a later time.


Day Date Opponent Location Time

Monday March 5 Tampa Bay Rays Port Charlotte 1:05

Pittsburgh Pirates Sarasota 7:05

Tuesday March 6 Boston Red Sox Fort Myers 1:35

Wednesday March 7 Minnesota Twins Sarasota 1:05

Thursday March 8 Atlanta Braves Sarasota 1:05

Friday March 9 Tampa Bay Rays Port Charlotte 1:05

Saturday March 10 Philadelphia Phillies Clearwater 1:05

Sunday March 11 Boston Red Sox Sarasota 1:05

Monday March 12 Toronto Blue Jays Dunedin 1:05

Tuesday March 13 Tampa Bay Rays Sarasota 1:05

Wednesday March 14 Pittsburgh Pirates Sarasota 1:05

Thursday March 15 Detroit Tigers Lakeland 1:05

Friday March 16 Minnesota Twins (ss) Fort Myers 1:05

Saturday March 17 Boston Red Sox (ss) Sarasota 1:05

Boston Red Sox (ss) Fort Myers 1:35

Sunday March 18 New York Yankees (ss) Sarasota TBA

Atlanta Braves (ss) Orlando 1:05

Monday March 19 off day

Tuesday March 20 Philadelphia Phillies Sarasota 1:05

Wednesday March 21 Toronto Blue Jays Sarasota 1:05

Thursday March 22 Minnesota Twins Fort Myers 1:05

Friday March 23 Boston Red Sox Sarasota 1:05

Saturday March 24 Washington Nationals Sarasota 1:05

Sunday March 25 Philadelphia Phillies Clearwater 1:05

Monday March 26 Pittsburgh Pirates Bradenton 7:05

Tuesday March 27 Minnesota Twins Sarasota 1:05

Wednesday March 28 Toronto Blue Jays Dunedin 1:05

Thursday March 29 New York Yankees Tampa 7:05

Friday March 30 Detroit Tigers Sarasota 7:05

Saturday March 31 Pittsburgh Pirates (ss) Bradenton 1:05

Sunday April 1 Tampa Bay Rays Sarasota 1:05

Monday April 2 Florida Southern College Sarasota 7:05