Six Orioles named 2013 Gold Glove award finalists

October 25, 2013 | WNST Staff


ESPN2 to broadcast exclusive show unveiling MLB recipients Tuesday, October 29th

ST. LOUIS, MO – October 25, 2013 – Rawlings Sporting Goods Company, Inc. a subsidiary of Jarden Corporation (NYSE: JAH), today announced the finalists for the 2013 Rawlings Gold Glove Award®, honoring the best individual fielding performances at each position in the American League™ and National League™. Winners will be unveiled during a special, one-hour “Baseball Tonight – The 2013 Rawlings Gold Glove Award Announcement Show” on ESPN2 Tuesday, October 29, 2013, at 8pm ET/7pm CT.

Rawlings first began highlighting the top-three defenders at each position in 2011. Since then, only 11 players have been named a Rawlings Gold Glove Award finalist each year: Texas third baseman Adrian Beltre, Cincinnati right fielder Jay Bruce and second baseman Brandon Phillips, Toronto pitcher Mark Buehrle, New York second baseman Robinson Cano, Los Angeles first baseman Adrian Gonzalez, Kansas City left fielder Alex Gordon, Baltimore shortstop J.J. Hardy and catcher Matt Wieters, St. Louis catcher Yadier Molina and Boston second baseman Dustin Pedroia.

A number of players are vying for the designation as the best defender at their respective positions, including 26 former Rawlings Gold Glove Award winners. The Baltimore Orioles™ lead all teams with six finalists, with first-time finalists Chris Davis and Manny Machado joining Hardy, Wieters, Adam Jones and Nick Markakis. The Kansas City Royals™ and Los Angeles Dodgers™ follow with five Rawlings Gold Glove Award finalists each.

Tampa Bay’s entire infield – first baseman James Loney, second baseman Ben Zobrist, third baseman Evan Longoria and shortstop Yunel Escobar – earned Rawlings Gold Glove Award finalist status. Last year, all three Atlanta Braves™ outfielders were nominated for the prestigious defensive honor.

The longest, active consecutive streak of Rawlings Gold Glove Award wins belongs to St. Louis’ Molina with five, beginning in 2008. Kansas City’s Gordon is next with two consecutive wins.

Each manager and up to six (6) coaches on his staff vote from a pool of qualified players in their League, and cannot vote for players on their own team. For the first time in its 57-year history, Rawlings added a sabermetric component to the Rawlings Gold Glove Award selection process, as part of its new collaboration with the Society for American Baseball Research (SABR). The SABR Defensive Index comprised of approximately 25 percent of the overall selection total, with the managers and coaches’ vote continuing to carry the majority.

The 2013 Rawlings Gold Glove Award finalists are:


Pos Player 2013 Team
P Mark Buehrle Toronto Blue Jays™
R.A. Dickey Toronto Blue Jays™
Doug Fister Detroit Tigers™
C Joe Mauer Minnesota Twins™
Salvador Perez Kansas City Royals™
Matt Wieters Baltimore Orioles™
1B Chris Davis Baltimore Orioles™
Eric Hosmer Kansas City Royals™
James Loney Tampa Bay Rays™
2B Robinson Cano New York Yankees™
Dustin Pedroia Boston Red Sox™
Ben Zobrist Tampa Bay Rays™
3B Adrian Beltre Texas Rangers™
Evan Longoria Tampa Bay Rays™
Manny Machado Baltimore Orioles™
SS Alcides Escobar Kansas City Royals™
Yunel Escobar Tampa Bay Rays™
J.J. Hardy Baltimore Orioles™
LF Yoenis Cespedes Oakland Athletics™
Andy Dirks Detroit Tigers™
Alex Gordon Kansas City Royals™
CF Lorenzo Cain Kansas City Royals™
Jacoby Ellsbury Boston Red Sox™
Adam Jones Baltimore Orioles™
RF Nick Markakis Baltimore Orioles™
Josh Reddick Oakland Athletics™
Shane Victorino Boston Red Sox™


Pos Player 2013 Team
P Patrick Corbin Arizona Diamondbacks™
Zack Greinke Los Angeles Dodgers™
Adam Wainwright St. Louis Cardinals™
C A.J. Ellis Los Angeles Dodgers™
Russell Martin Pittsburgh Pirates™
Yadier Molina St. Louis Cardinals™
1B Paul Goldschmidt Arizona Diamondbacks™
Adrian Gonzalez Los Angeles Dodgers™
Anthony Rizzo Chicago Cubs™
2B Darwin Barney Chicago Cubs™
Mark Ellis Los Angeles Dodgers™
Brandon Phillips Cincinnati Reds™
3B Nolan Arenado Colorado Rockies™
Juan Uribe Los Angeles Dodgers™
David Wright New York Mets™
SS Ian Desmond Washington Nationals™
Andrelton Simmons Atlanta Braves™
Troy Tulowitzki Colorado Rockies™
LF Carlos Gonzalez Colorado Rockies™
Starling Marte Pittsburgh Pirates™
Eric Young Jr. New York Mets™
CF Carlos Gomez Milwaukee Brewers™
Andrew McCutchen Pittsburgh Pirates™
Denard Span Washington Nationals™
RF Jay Bruce Cincinnati Reds™
Jason Heyward Atlanta Braves™
Gerardo Parra Arizona Diamondbacks™

Following the ESPN2 announcement telecast, voting for the Rawlings Platinum Glove Award™ presented by SABR will begin at, allowing the general public to weigh in as to who is “The Finest in the Field®” in both the American League and National League. Fans can only select one player among the 2013 Rawlings Gold Glove Award winners from each League.

A combination of the international fan vote and the SABR Defensive Index will determine who takes home the honor of each League’s top defensive player.

The Rawlings Platinum Glove Award winners will be unveiled during the 2013 Rawlings Gold Glove Award Ceremony presented by Gold Sport Collectibles on Friday, November 8, 2013, at The Plaza Hotel in New York City.

About the Rawlings Gold Glove Award®

The Rawlings Gold Glove Award® is a registered trademark owned by Rawlings Sporting Goods Company, Inc. The award is correctly identified as the Rawlings Gold Glove Award. The name should not be shortened, abbreviated or otherwise misused. Proper identification of this service mark using the registration symbol and the Rawlings name is important to protect the integrity of the program and perpetuate this worthy tradition. For more information, please visit