30th Annual Ed Block Courage Award Banquet Recipients-2008

January 09, 2008 |

I cover many events and this one is a must for any sports fan!
AND it’s for a wondeful cause!!!!

Buffalo Bills TE Kevin Everett is just
one of many fantastic stories of courage and achievement that make up
the 2007 class of The Ed Block Courage Awards.

Everett suffered a spinal cord injury covering a kickoff in the Bills’
season opener vs. the Broncos.

The injury was life threatening, but the outstanding work of the Bills’
training staff and team doctors saved Everett’s life. Everett was told
that he may never walk again. Through hard work and determination not
only was Everett able to walk again he was able to visit his teammates
in Buffalo before their last home game of the year vs. the New York

Everett is just one of many great stories of courage in this year’s
class. Baltimore Ravens CB Samari Rolle gathered the courage to return
to the football field after being diagnosed with Epilepsy. Detroit Lions
RB Kevin Jones was honored by his teammates for returning to action
after suffering a season ending foot injury. When Jones spoke at the
Lions Courage House dinner he told the crowd of a different hero. His
stepfather, who had the courage to take Kevin his brothers and sisters,
and his mom in when he was young, and how his real father was shot and
killed when he was eight years old.

This year’s class also boasts three playoff QB’s. Pittsburgh’s Ben
Roethlisberger, Tampa Bay’s Jeff Garcia, and Seattle Seahawks back-up QB
Seneca Wallace will all represent their teams. Listed below are all the
2007 winners.
Please call 410-821-6252 for tickets, tables, or information about the
2007 Ed Block Courage Award Foundation banquet, or you can visit us on
the web at www.edblock.org .

2007 Ed Block Courage Award Recipients are as follows:

Arizona Cardinals Bertrand Berry – DE

Atlanta Falcons Alge Crumpler – TE

Baltimore Ravens Samari Rolle -S

Buffalo Bills Kevin Everett – TE

Carolina Panthers Mike Rucker -DE

Chicago Bears Tommie Harris – DT

Cincinnati Bengals Reggie Kelly- TE

Cleveland Browns Gary Baxter -FS

Dallas Cowboys Jay Ratliff -DT

Denver Broncos John Engleberger – DE

Detroit Lions Kevin Jones – RB

Green Bay Packers Chris Francies –

Houston Texans Anthony Weaver – DE

Indianapolis Colts Ryan Lilja -OL

Jacksonville Jaguars Greg Jones – FB

Kansas City Chiefs Eddie Kennison- WR

Miami Dolphins Andre Goodman- LB

Minnesota Vikings Chad Greenway -LB

New England Patriots Steve Neal – G

New Orleans Saints Roman Harper -S

New York Giants Amani Toomer -WR

New York Jets Laveranues Coles – WR

Oakland Raiders Justin Fargas- RB

Philadelphia Eagles Montae Reagor- DT

Pittsburgh Steelers Ben Roethlisberger – QB

San Diego Chargers Darren Sproles -RB

San Francisco 49ers Eric Heitmann- OL

Seattle Seahawks Seneca Wallace – QB

St. Louis Rams Dane Looker- WR

Tampa Bay Buccaneers Jeff Garcia – QB

Tennessee Titans David Thornton – LB

Washington Redskins Marcus Washington-LB
*Any Questions contact: Dave Coppenhaver 410-821-6252 (Dave@Edblock.org)
Paul Mittermeier 410-821-6252
** Need to contact ME??
Anne’s E-mail: Sociallyspeakinganne@comcast.net