A team in Maryland wins another championship….but no one is talking about it.

August 23, 2010 | Shawn Credle

Baseball season is winding down for the Orioles and Nationals, and Football season is about to start for the Ravens and Redskins. With all of that going on, other local sports teams often get overlooked, or just completely ignored. If you conducted a poll asking the average Baltimore or Maryland sports fan if they knew that the Chesapeake Bayhawks won their third Major League Lacrosse Championship yesterday, I would bet that less than 10% would say that they did.  Pretty bad for a state that lists lacrosse as one of the state’s sports.

After dealing with a season that included a 5-game losing streak, and a change of head coach in mid-season (when Brendan Kelly decided to replace former coach John Tucker with himself), the Bayhawks entered the MLL playoffs at the #4 seed, with a 6-6 record. After upsetting the #1 seed Boston Cannons 13-9 on Saturday, the Bayhawks managed to pull off another upset over the #3 seed Long Island Lizards 13-9 on Sunday, to capture the franchise’s 3rd championship.

Midfielder Peet Poillon, from UMBC, and attackman Brian Carroll each had three goals during the title game. Attackman Ben Rubeor added three assists and midfielder Kyle Dixon had two goals and one assist in the game. Kyle Hartzell was named Playoff MVP and became the first defenseman in league history to do so after playing shutdown defense throughout the playoffs.

After failing to make the playoffs in the last 4 years, the Chesapeake Bayhawks not only made this year’s playoffs, but win the championship as well. This was their championship since 2005 since they beat the Lizards by a score of 15-9. Congratulations to the now 3-time MLL Champions!