April 27, 2008 |

Down 6-2 the Blast battled back and scored 12 straight points until a late consolation goal from Monterrey made the final score 14-11. The Blast dominated the second half after a sluggish first half led to a 6-6 half time score. Carlos Garcia and Lucio also contributed to the scoring as well as fine defensive play and outstanding goal keeping by Sagu. Denison Cabral was the series MVP. Denison Cabral finished with 19 points for the playoffs. The Blast have now won the MISL Championship 4 out of the last 6 years. It does my heart good every time the MISL Commissioner has to present Ed Hale the trophy.

I’d like to thank everyone who viewed my MISL and Blast articles this season. Stay in touch with the MISL via their website and the Baltimore Blast www.baltimoreblast,com. Look for a Championship celebration in the upcoming week.

As I close out a big thank you to: Nestor and Emily for allowing this to happen and keeping things working on the web. My family for allowing me to write when it could be time spent with you. To Amy Keller, and Mike Conway of the Blast for all their assistance. I hope the MISL is back next year and we get to do this again. Indoor soccer in Baltimore is special and the Blast fans are the best.

Yours in soccer,

Patrick M. Johnson