Baltimore v. Monterrey Preview

April 24, 2008 |

When: Saturday 7pm EST LIVE from Milwaukee. The game can be seen locally on The Fox Soccer Channel and at the ESPN Zone with other Blast fans.

How they got here: Monterrey defeated Chicago Storm and the Detroit Ignition to advance to the finals. The Blast defeated the New Jersey Ironmen and the Milwaukee Wave.

When the Baltimore Blast host Monterrey La Ra Za this Saturday in Milwaukee there seems to be two huge X factors in favor of the Blast. First the players who have won a championship on the current roster (Millwood, Celenza, Wakefield, Nelson, Sagu, Neto, Aristodemo, Bascome, Coach Danny Kelly as player and coach and secondly they have won 3 MISL championships 2003,04′,06’ in the franchise’s modern history compared to zero championships for Monterrey.

The Blast must stop Byron Alvarez who has scored 8 goals this post season and Ivan Medina who has 4 goals. Also the Blast must game plan for Genoni Martinez especially on set pieces and Dino Delevski two players on the La Ra Za who have playoff and Championship experience with the Kixx last year’s MISL champions.

The Blast have a variety of offensive weapons including: Denison Cabral , Machel Millwood who lead the playoff scoring with 5 goals each and contributors: Lucio 9 points, Wakefield 8 points, Neto and Celenza with 7 points each. These players present a match-up problem for the best of teams.

Sagu clearly has an edge in goal with an 8.75 points against average vs. Monterrey’s Jose Bontti’s 11.14 points against average.

Extra Motivation: This time Danny Kelly can claim that this is his team that won the championship. The last time out many would argue it was Tim Wittman’s team and Danny was the caretaker for the last championship run in Baltimore.

Swan Song: Will this be the end of the MISL as we know it? With California joining the PASL and possibly one or two other franchises questionable to return the MISL as we know it will not look the same next year.

Prediction: The Blast will be air tight on defense and they will return to Baltimore the 2007-2008 MISL Champions. The final score 13-8 BALTIMORE!