Kansas Wins; Memphis Blows Title

April 08, 2008 |

20 years after Danny Manning and the Miracles won the 1988 National Title, Kansas wins the National Title again last night in overtime 75-68 over Memphis.

The Memphis Tigers had all but won the game having a 9 point led with 2:12 left to go in the game. But the worst foul shooting team in the country lived up to this by missing 4 of their final 5 foul shots in the last 1:12 of the game. This and the fact that Joey Dorsey fouled out late in the game and Coach John Calipari’s lapse of judgement of not calling a timeout to set up his defense at the end of the game were key factors in Memphis losing this game.

Coach Bill Self brought Kansas back from 9 points down by fouling the Memphis team early and making them win it from the foul line. Mario Chalmers made a 3 pointer to tie the game at 63 and put it into overtime.

Kansas was led by Arthur 20 points and 10 rebounds, Chalmers 18 pts, Rush 12 pts and Collins 11 pts. Super freshman Derrick Rose had 18 points and Chris Douglas-Roberts had 20 pts for Memphis.

Watching Mike and Mike this morning, they were trying to place this game with the best National Championship games of all time. I can’t see where this game could even be considered for that. It was a rather boring game with alot of turnovers, fouls and terrible shots on both sides. The shot that Mario Chalmers made at the end of the game to put it into overtime I wouldn’t even consider for the top 10 of all-time.