Loyola Moves on to Patriot League Championship, Knocks Off Colgate

April 26, 2014 | Roy G Edwards

 Loyola, as they have time and time again this season, used their goal scoring runs to knock off Colgate, 12-6, to move on to the Patriot League championship Friday.

Loyola (13-1 overall) scored three-straight in the first quarter, four in a row during the second and three consecutive during the fourth. Colgate (9-6) scored back-to-back goals just once in the game, late in the third quarter to pull within three. It was Ryan Walsh who scored one of his team-high three goals with 1:03 left in the third, and Cameron ripped a 12-yard shot from the top off a Kevin Adams assist from behind with less than three seconds left, cutting the Greyhounds’ advantage to 7-4. Colgate was unable to build off the late third quarter goals as Loyola was able to add five fourth quarter goals.

After a lightning delay of 38 minutes less than five minutes into the second half, Colgate was able to make some ground. However not even mother nature would deny Loyola their 13th straight victory of the season.

Brian Schultz’s continued his 2014 break out season as he added four goals to give him 10 in the Greyhounds’ last two games and 31 this season. Entering the season, he had scored just three goals in his first three seasons at Loyola. Freshman Nikko Pontrello would add a goal and assist in the win for Loyola.

To go along with the Loyola offensive attack, Joe Fletcher would tie his career-high with five caused turnovers, while he added an additional five ground balls. Jack Runkel would tally 11 saves in the win as Loyola used another balanced attack on their way to the Patriot League championship.

Following the game, Fletcher, Pontrello and Justin Ward were all named Tewaaraton Award nominees. They are three of 28 semifinalists for the award. Loyola joins Duke University as the only schools nationally with three nominees.

The Greyhounds will take on Lehigh in the Patriot League championship game as the winner will earn an automatic bid in May’s NCAA Tournament. The two will face off Sunday at 1:00 PM at Ridley Athletic Complex in Baltimore.