March 21, 2011 | John West


Monday, March 21, 2011 The Major Indoor Soccer League (MISL) announced today the All-MISL teams for the 2010-11 regular season. The First Team is highlighted by Missouri Comets forward and MISL leading scorer Byron Alvarez and Baltimore Blast goalkeeper Sagu, who led the MISL with 14 wins. The All-MISL Teams were selected following a formal voting process that polled members of the media, as well as MISL coaches and general managers.

Joining Alvarez and Sagu on the First Team are forward Marco Terminesi (Milwaukee Wave), forward Bato Radoncic (Chicago Riot) and defenders Pat Morris (Baltimore Blast) and Leo Gibson (Missouri Comets). Terminesi, who ranked second in the league with 72 points, was a 2009-10 Second-Team selection despite missing half of the season with an illness. He has scored at least one point in 29 straight regular season games. Radoncic, who led the Riot with 49 points, was a three-time MISL Player of the Week this season. Morris, a 10-time All-League selection, ranked third on the Blast with 42 points and ranked second in the MISL with 36 blocks. Gibson, who began the season as a forward and moved into a defensive role on New Year’s Eve, was the MISL Offensive Player of the Month in November, scored 45 points and tied for most blocked shots on the Comets with 20.

The All-MISL Second Team features Milwaukee Wave goalkeeper Nick Vorberg, Wave defender Josh Rife, Baltimore Blast midfielder Pat Healey and defender Mike Lookingland, Missouri Comets forward Jamar Beasley and Omaha Vipers forward Johnny Torres. Vorberg, 9-4 on the season, was the MISL December co-Goalkeeper of the Month and last season’s Goalkeeper of the Year. Healey, the 2009 Rookie of the Year, led the Blast with 48 points and recorded at least one point in 16 games this season. Lookingland, in his sixth season with the Blast, was the December MISL Defensive Player of the Month and ranked third in the MISL with 35 blocks. Signed just one day before the Comets’ season opener, Beasley finished third in the league in scoring with 54 points and tied for third with 20 goals. Torres, who came out of retirement to play for the Vipers this season, earned MISL Player of the Week honors on January 10 and recorded 17 goals and four assists for 39 points.

The Baltimore Blast has the most All-MISL players this season (two on the First Team and two on the Second Team), followed by the Missouri Comets (two on the First Team and one on the Second Team) and Milwaukee Wave (one on the First Team and two on the Second Team); Chicago has one First-Team player and Omaha has one Second-Team representative.

Voters were asked to select two complete teams of All-MISL players; a first-team vote was worth two points and a second-team vote was worth one point. Each voter was asked to choose one goalkeeper, two defenders and three midfielders/forwards for each team.

2010-11 All-MISL First Team
Pos Player Team Games Points Goals Assists Blocks
D Pat Morris Baltimore 20 42 (T-10th) 16 (10th) 6 36 (2nd)
D Leo Gibson Missouri 20 45 (8th) 14 (T-11th) 13 (T-3rd) 20 (T-6th)
F Byron Alvarez Missouri 20 80 (1st) 33 (1st) 12 (T-6th) 5
F Marco Terminesi Milwaukee 19 72 (2nd) 25 (2nd) 19 (1st) 10
F Bato Radoncic Chicago 18 49 (T-4th) 20 (T-3rd) 9 (T-12th) 8
Pos Player Team Games Minutes P.A.A. Record Save Pct.
GK Sagu Baltimore 18 1077 (1st) 9.64 (2nd) 14-4 74.7 (4th)

2010-11 All-MISL Second Team
Pos Player Team Games Points Goals Assists Blocks
D Mike Lookingland Baltimore 19 16 4 7 (T-19th) 35 (3rd)
D Josh Rife Milwaukee 19 12 5 2 20 (T-6th)
F Pat Healey Baltimore 20 48 (T-6th) 17 (T-5th) 13 (T-3rd) 18 (T-10th)
F Jamar Beasley Missouri 20 54 (3rd) 20 (T-3rd) 12 (T-6th) 2
F Johnny Torres Omaha 17 39 (13th) 17 (T-5th) 4 3
Pos Player Team Games Minutes P.A.A. Record Save Pct.
GK Nick Vorberg Milwaukee 13 768 (4th) 9.92 (3rd) 9-4 76.1 (2nd)

About the Major Indoor Soccer League
The MISL represents the Major League of professional indoor soccer in the United States and features the finest indoor soccer players from around the world. The league has five member clubs for the 2010-11 season: the Baltimore Blast, Chicago Riot, Milwaukee Wave, Missouri Comets and Omaha Vipers. The 2010-11 regular season began on November 12 and ended on March 13; the postseason began March 16 with the Milwaukee Wave and Missouri Comets facing each other in the Semifinals. The Wave beat the Comets, two games to one, to advance to play the Baltimore Blast in the 2011 MISL Championship Game on Friday, March 25 at 1st Mariner Arena in Baltimore. For more information about the MISL, visit the League’s official website www.MISL.net.

The 2011 MISL Postseason:
Semifinal No. 1: Wednesday, March 16 – Milwaukee Wave 5 at Missouri Comets 11
Semifinal No. 2: Sunday, March 20 – Missouri Comets 18 at Milwaukee Wave 20
Semifinal No. 3 (mini game): Sunday, March 20 – Missouri Comets 2 at Milwaukee Wave 5
Championship Game: Friday, March 25 – Missouri Comets/Milwaukee Wave at Baltimore Blast