Tonight’s Orioles – Angels Lineups

April 28, 2009 |

The Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim have traveled all the way east to take on the Orioles tonight at Camden Yards for the first of the teams’ short two-game mini-set.  First pitch is scheduled for 7:05 this evening and 12:35 tomorrow – after losing nine of their last twelve, the Orioles could desperately use a couple W’s.

Good news for the Orioles… veteran third basemen Melvin Mora will be back in uniform and batting fifth in tonight’s order after being activated from the 15-day DL earlier this afternoon.  Mora was hitting .313 before exiting the lineup with a sore right hamstring, causing him to miss the last 15 games.

Adam Eaton will get the start for the O’s and will bring a good amount of confidence to the mound from his last outing.  Just five nights ago, Eaton wowed the home crowd by throwing 7.1 innings of quality Major League level baseball.  Only allowing six hits and two earned is impressive, but what’s amazing was the dominance he showed in striking out nine White Sox batters, while not issuing a walk to even one.  Though even with the solid performance, his ERA is still above 7.00, which illustrates his struggles in previous starts in an Oriole uniform this season.

Joe Saunders, the Angels’ 26-year old lefty, will take the ball against the O’s for Manager Mike Scioscia’s club.  The All-Star from a year ago has a 2-1 record with a 3.51 ERA so far this year and was roughed up a little in his last start when he gave up five earned over five in a no-decision at home against the Tigers.  Saunders in his career has been very successful when facing Baltimore; he has a perfect 4-0 record in four starts.

Overall, the Angels as a group have been staggering a bit in the early stages of ’09.  Injuries and out-of-character inconsistent play have left them with a 7-11 record and a last place standing in the American League’s West Division.

Here are tonight’s starting lineups:


Brian Roberts – 2B
Adam Jones – CF
Nick Markakis – RF
Aubrey Huff – 1B
Melvin Mora – 3B
Ty Wigginton – DH
Lou Montanez – LF
Gregg Zaun – C
Cesar Izturis – SS


Chone Figgins – 3B
Macier Izturis – DH
Bobby Abreu – RF
Torii Hunter – CF
Kendry Morales – 1B
Mike Napoli – C
Howie Kendrick – 2B
Juan Rivera – LF
Eric Aybar – SS