The True boxing ratings– 5/18

May 18, 2009 |


  I am a huge boxing fan. I don’t particularly enjoy MMA. I am devastated by the decline of boxing. One of the biggest problems is the numerous champions in each division. With 4 or more no one can keep track. The Ring does a good job of sifting through the nonsense, but they leave too many titles vacant. So I began rating the fighters myself and now as far as I’m concerned I only recognize one champ per division. It has made my viewing more enjoyable and you don’t have to worry about me stripping guys for corrupt reasons….since no one pays me. Anyway I thought you might be interested in my updated ratings. Tell me where you disagree.


 Heavyweight 200+     Cruiserweight 200    Lt.Heavyweight 175
CH:   Wladimir Klitschko   Tomasz Adamek  Chad Dawson                                
1.            Vitali Klitschko      Guillermo Jones         Bernard Hopkins
2.          Ruslan Chagaev      Steve Cunningham        Glen Johnson

3.       Alexander Povetkin      Marco Huck                  Zsolt Erdei

4.           Nikolai Valuev       Krzystof Wlodarczyk     Antonio Tarver

5.             Chris Arreola        Giaccobe Fragomeni      Adrian Diaconu


     Super Middleweight 168   Middleweight 160     Jr. Middleweight 154

CH:       Mikkel Kessler              Kelly Pavlik                  Sergei Dzindziruk

1.          Lucien Bute               Arthur Abraham                Paul Williams

2.             Carl Froch                  Felix Sturm                      Daniel Santos

3.           Karoly Balszay             Winky Wright              Vernon Forrest

4.             Andre Ward                 Sergio Mora                 Sergio Martinez

5.          Librado Andrade          Anthony Mundine         Cory Spinks


             Welterweight 147          Jr. Welterweight 140       Lightweight 135

CH:    Shane Mosley                 Manny Pacquiao           Juan Manuel Marquez

1.        Miguel Cotto                       Timothy Bradley               Edwin Valero

2.      Antonio Margarito            Andreas Kotelnik                 Juan Diaz

3.          Andre Berto                       Ricky Hatton                  Joel Casamayor

4.           Joshua Clottey                 Juan Urango                  Breidis Prescott

5.   Vyacheslav Senchenko         Nate Campbell                Paulus Moses



              Jr.Lightweight 130        Featherweight 126     Jr.Featherweight 122

CH:        Humberto Soto                 Chris John                           Israel Vazquez

1.       Robert Guerrero              Steven Luevano                Celestino Caballero

2.          Jorge Linares                      Jorge Solis                          Rafael Marquez

3.        Rocky Martinez              Yuriorkis Gamboa             Juan Manuel Lopez

4.         Malcolm Klassen                Cristobol Cruz                  Bernard Dunne

5.             Rocky Juarez                   Takahiro Aoh                  Jhonny Gonzalez


          Bantamweight 118          Jr.Bantamweight 115              Flyweight 112

CH:   Fernando Montiel           Vic Darchinyan              Denkaosan Kaowichit

1.      Hozumi Hasegawa          Alexander Munoz                  Nonito Donaire

2.         Anselmo Moreno             Nobuo Nashiro                  Omar Narvaez

3.         Joseph Agbeko           Devid Lookmahanak               Koki Kameda

4.         Abner Mares                        Jose Lopez                          Daisuke Naito 

5.             Z Gorres                       Evans Mbamba           Pongsaklek Wonjongkam


                         Jr.Flyweight 108                             Strawweight 105

CH:                   Brian Viloria                               Oleydong Sithsamerchai

1.                   Ivan Calderon                                             Raul Garcia

2.                     Edgar Sosa                                               Roman Gonzalez

3.                Brahim Asloum                                             Donnie Nietes

4.                Giovanni Segura                                          Florante Condes

5.                     Ulises Solis                                                 Manuel Vargas




5/26    Denkaosan Kaowichit vs. Hiroyuki Hisataka       Flyweight

5/29  Oleydong Sithsamerchai vs. Muhammed Rachmann    Straw

6/20   Wladimir Klitschko   vs. David Haye        Heavyweight

6/27    Chris John   vs.   Rocky Juarez        Featherweight

              Fernando Montiel   vs.   Eric Morel          Bantamweight

7/10    Tomasz Adamek  vs.  Matt Godfrey     Cruiserweight

7/11     Vic Darchinyan   vs. Joseph Agbeko     non-title

7/18     Juan Manuel Marquez  vs.  Floyd Mayweather     non-title


  The last two fights are non title because the champions (Darchinyan and Marquez) are moving up in weight and won’t be fighting in the division they are champs. If they win and remain in their new divisions, then new champions will be chosen. That brings me to Israel Vazquez. He hasn’t fought in 14 months and is considering retirement. I may be forced to make a change there and pick an new Jr. Featherweight champion. Hopefully these rankings will help you make some sense of the mess that is pro boxing.