NHL Hockey Awards

June 19, 2009 |


  The NHL handed out its year end awards tonight in Las Vegas. It was the essentially the final night of the 2008-09 season, which will be remembered for such a great Stanley Cup final. As we all know who watched,  Evgeni Malkin won the Conn Smythe trophy as playoff MVP. He was up for regular season MVP, but fell short to a local favorite. Here is a complete list of the winners.


   Hart Trophy (MVP)-    Alexander Ovechkin, WASH

                                                                    56 G    54 A    19PPG

My choice:   Evgeni Malkin, Pitt

      Vezina Trophy (Goalie)-     Tim Thomas,   BOS

                                                                36-11-7     2.10 GAA    .933 Sv%

My choice:  same

        Norris Trophy (Defensemen)-    Zdeno Chara,  BOS

                                                                     19  G     31 A      23 +/-

My choice: same

          Calder Trophy (Rookie)-     Steve Mason,   G   COLUM

                                                                     33-20-7     2.29 GAA    .916  Sv%

My choice: Same

          Lady Byng Trophy(sportsmanship)-  Pavel Datsyuk,   DET

My choice:   Martin St. Louis, TB

           Selke Trophy ( Defensive forward)-  Pavel Datsyuk,  DET

                                                                                       32 G    65 A     34 +/-

My choice: same

           Jack Adams Trophy (coach)-  Claude Julien, BOS

                                          from 93 pts in ’08 to   116 pts in ’09

My choice:  Andy Murray, STL

         Lester Pearson Award (Players MVP)- Alex Ovechkin, WASH

My choice:   Evgeni Malkin, Pitt

               Masterton Trophy (Comeback)- Steve Sullivan, NASH

                                                     Missed 1/2 years with back surgeries

My choice: Richard Zednik,  Fla