Hopkins D Durkin named nation’s top defenseman

May 25, 2012 | WNST Staff

BALTIMORE, MD – Johns Hopkins junior defenseman Tucker Durkin (Huntingdon, PA/La Salle College HS) added yet another impressive honor to his growing list of accolades today as he has been named the 2012 recipient of the William C. Schmeisser Award, which is presented annually to the nation’s top defenseman. Durkin was also recently named a First Team USILA All-American after garnering second team honors last season.

Durkin is the 13th Johns Hopkins player to win the award (the 13 have combined for 16 selections) and the Blue Jays lead all schools in number of recipients and selections. In addition, he is JHU’s second Schmeisser Award winner in the last four years.

Durkin started all 16 games on close defense for the Blue Jays this season and totaled 35 ground balls, 19 caused turnovers and one assist. He led the team in caused turnovers and finished third in ground balls while marking the opposition’s top attackman in each game.

A physical defender with an attention to detail, Durkin has started all 47 games in his career and has 95 ground balls and 49 caused turnovers to his credit. With Durkin leading the way, the Blue Jays have featured one of the stingiest defenses in the nation in the last two years as they allowed an average of just 7.25 and 7.38 goals per game in 2011 and 2012, respectively.

With his selection as the Schmeisser Award recipient this year, Durkin adds his name to an impressive list of Johns Hopkins players who have won the award. Among the 12 other Johns Hopkins players who have combined to win the award are Dave Pietramala (1988 & 1989), Mark Greenberg (1979 & 1980) and Hank Kaestner (1966 & 1967), who represent three of the six individuals who have won the award multiple times since it was first presented in 1942.

Johns Hopkins’ All-Time Schmeisser Award Recipients
1943 – George Riepe
1949 – Lloyd Bunting
1951 – Joseph Sollers
1958 – Walter Mitchell
1961 – Michael Byrne
1966 & 1967 – Hank Kaestner
1969 – Michael Clark
1979 & 1980 – Mark Greenberg
1985 – John DeTommaso
1988 & 1989 – Dave Pietramala
1997 – Brian Kuczma
2009 – Michael Evans
2012 – Tucker Durkin