Hopkins’ Durkin named nation’s top defenseman again

May 24, 2013 | WNST Staff

BALTIMORE, MD –Tucker Durkin (Huntingdon, PA/La Salle College HS), a senior on the Johns Hopkins men’s lacrosse team, had already established himself as one of the top defensemen in school history before Friday. Now, the fraternity of individuals he’s referenced with will be even smaller as he became just the fourth player in Johns Hopkins history and the eighth player in college lacrosse history to twice win the William C. Schmeisser Award as the nation’s top defensive player when the USILA’s major award winners were announced today.

A three-time All-American, including a first team selection as a junior and senior, Durkin joins Hank Kaestner (1966, 1967), Mark Greenberg (1979, 1980) and Dave Pietramala as the only Johns Hopkins players to win the Schmeisser Award twice. Johns Hopkins’ four two-time recipients represent half of the eight who have grabbed the award more than once as Fred Allner, Jr. (1944 – Cornell, 1947 – Princeton), Chris Kane (1977, 1978 – Cornell), Tom Haus (1984, 1986, 1987 – North Carolina) and ∫ (1992, 1993 – Princeton) round out this exclusive list.

This season, Durkin led a Johns Hopkins unit that ranks third nationally in scoring defense (7.79). Durkin led the team in caused turnovers (16) and finished fifth in ground balls (32) while regularly drawing the assignment of marking the opposition’s top attackman. While matchups can change throughout a game, the three attackmen he primarily marked in his final three games combined for a total of just two assists in that time.

Durkin is the 13th Johns Hopkins player to win the award (the 13 have combined for 17 selections) and the Blue Jays lead all schools in number of recipients and selections. In addition, this is the third Schmeisser Award for a Johns Hopkins player in the last five years as Michael Evans grabbed the award in 2009.

Johns Hopkins’ All-Time Schmeisser Award Recipients

1943 – George Riepe
1949 – Lloyd Bunting
1951 – Joseph Sollers
1958 – Walter Mitchell
1961 – Michael Byrne
1966 & 1967 – Hank Kaestner
1969 – Michael Clark
1979 & 1980 – Mark Greenberg
1985 – John DeTommaso
1988 & 1989 – Dave Pietramala
1997 – Brian Kuczma
2009 – Michael Evans
2012 & 2013 – Tucker Durkin