Loyola attackman Ward named to IL Preseason Player of the Year watch list

January 18, 2014 | WNST Staff

Inside Lacrosse announced their Preseason Player of the Year watch list this week. Albany junior attackman Lyle Thompson was the choice for Preseason Player of the Year, a year after tying the all-time Division I single season scoring record.

Only one player from the area made this year’s list, Loyola senior attackman Justin Ward (Old Mill) was ranked ninth. Ward will look to become only the second men’s player from a school in the state of Maryland to ever win the Tewaaraton Trophy (Johns Hopkins’ Kyle Harrison in 2005) this year after amassing 105 points over the last two seasons.

Here is what IL had to say about Ward in their write-up…

As a freshman, Ward talked of modeling his game after Rob Pannell. Through intense physical preparation, he’s emerged as a dodging feeder with a similar combination of strength and quickness, and he’s got the leadership and eyes-up intangibles to be nearly as good.

Ward was selected 23rd overall in the 2014 MLL Draft by the Charlotte Hounds and was picked as a co-captain for the Greyhounds this season. Here is the entire Preseason Player of the Year watch list from IL.

10. Brandon Mangan, A, Sr., Yale
9. Ward
8. T.J. Sanders, A, So., Penn State
7. Matt Kavanagh, A, So., Notre Dame
6. Joey Sankey, A, Jr., North Carolina
5. Wesley Berg, A, Jr., Denver
4. Kieran McArdle, A, Sr., St. John’s
3. Thomas Schreiber, M, Sr., Princeton
2. Jordan Wolf, A, Sr., Duke
1. Lyle Thompson, A, Jr., Albany

(Honorable Mention: Jimmy Bitter, A, Jr., North Carolina; Chris LaPierre, M, Sr., Virginia; Jesse King, M, Jr., Ohio State; Mark Cockerton, A, Sr., Virginia; John Glesener, A, Jr., Army)

Loyola opens the 2014 season Thursday, February 6 at Virginia.