Loyola’s Ratliff, Sawyer Named Tewaaraton Nominees

April 25, 2012 | WNST Staff

WASHINGTON, D.C. – The Loyola University Maryland is among six schools nationally to have a member of both its men’s and women’s lacrosse programs honored as a 2012 Tewaaraton Award nominee, as sophomore Marlee Paton was included among the women’s 25 finalists and juniors Scott Ratliff and Mike Sawyer were among the men’s honorees.

Sawyer, one of the most prolific scorers in the nation this season, leads Loyola’s attack with 40 goals and 48 points. He is third in Division I with 3.33 goals per game and ninth with a 4.08 points per game mark. He has recorded three or more goals in nine of Loyola’s 12 games this year and he has two or more in 11 games.

Ratliff, meanwhile, has been one of the game’s best long-stick midfielders as a junior. He leads the Greyhounds in ground balls(47) and caused turnovers (28) this season, and his mark of 2.33 per game is fifth best in Division I. He has keyed Loyola’s transition game this year, scoring six goals and assisting on five more for 11 points.

On the women’s side, Paton leads a young offense with 37 goals, 28 assists and 65 points, ranking in the top five of the BIG EAST ineach of the categories. She has tallied six hat tricks this year and has dished out multiple assists on seven occasions.

Loyola is one of five schools on the men’s side to have two players nominated, joining Johns Hopkins, Princeton, Massachusetts and Virginia. On the women’s side, Paton is one of two sophomores to be honored, as Syracuse’s Alyssa Murray is the other, while she is also one of five BIG EAST players included.

Five men’s and five women’s finalists will be announced May 10 and invited to the Tewaaraton Award Ceremony. The original men’s and women’s watch lists, were announced Feb. 15 with additions made March 20 and April 3 and were ultimately comprised of 82 men’s players and 57 women’s players.