Lusby, Sawyer, Etherly Honored at Loyola Awards Banquet

May 01, 2012 | WNST Staff

BALTIMORE – Loyola University Maryland graduate student Eric Lusby and senior Ana Heneberry were the 2012 recipients of the John R. Mohler and Ernest Lagna Awards, respectively, as the top male and female senior student-athletes who excel in athletics, scholarship and character.

These awards, and many others, were presented on Monday evening at the 2012 Loyola Athletic Awards Banquet held in McGuire Hall on the Evergreen Campus.

Heneberry, a four-year lacrosse letterwinner, will graduate from Loyola as one of the most decorated and accomplished student-athletes in Greyhound women’s lacrosse history. The Preseason BIG EAST Defensive Player of the Year, Heneberry helped the team to its first BIG EAST conference title in 2011 and has led this year’s version to a No. 2 seed in the upcoming conference tournament. An All-BIG EAST selection as a sophomore and a junior, she also earned third-team All-America honors following last season.

Lusby returned from an injury that cost him his senior season, but came back to captain the Greyhounds as a graduate student. He has led the Greyhounds to their most successful season in more than 10 years, scoring 34 goals and notching 10 assists thus far. He was a Tewaaraton Award nominee for the nation’s top player, and his leadership, hard work and dedication helped Loyola win the ECAC regular-season title and reach as high as No. 1 in the nation.

Several other awards were handed out to Loyola senior student-athletes, beginning with the Unsung Hero Awards.

The Men’s Unsung Hero Award went to men’s basketball senior Shane Walker. Head coach Jimmy Patsos often describes Walker as a coach among student-athletes, and his skill, willingness to accept his role and desire to win were critical for his team. Walker was the fifth-leading scorer, averaging 9.0 points and 6.3 rebounds, while helping the team to its most successful season in Division I history. Walker led the Greyhounds to a 24-9 overall record, a MAAC tournament title and the team’s first NCAA appearance since 1994.

Women’s lacrosse senior Kerry Stoothoff earned the award on the women’s side after being one of the most steady and consistent performers during her four years at Loyola. Stoothoff brought a team-first attitude that has permeated her peers and helped lead the Greyhounds to the NCAA Tournament in 2011. She will leave Loyola as one of the top goalies in program history, having earned All-BIG EAST honors on multiple occasions and was named MVP of the BIG EAST Championship in 2011.

Men’s Leadership Award winner J.P. Dalton of the men’s lacrosse team was elected a team captain by his peers, and he took that responsibility and has helped mold the team in his image as hard-working and dedicated to winning. Dalton is a vocal leader on the field, but also inspires with his actions. He stepped into a major role as the main faceoff midfielder this season, winning 55.2-percent of faceoffs for the Greyhounds. Head coach Charley Toomey said that his work ethic is a model for all current and future Greyhounds.

Rachel Janasek of the women’s tennis team won the Women’s Leadership Award, instilling her passion for winning into the team. Janasek set several records at Loyola, including becoming the winningest No. 1 singles player in Greyhound history. She pursued excellence, and achieved it, in her sport as well as in the classroom.

The Men’s Medal of Merit went to lacrosse’s Dylan Grimm, who has been a multiple-year starter and also has been an All-Academic honoree for two seasons from the ECAC. He has helped the Greyhounds to a historic season and has displayed toughness and skill at his position.

Kellye Gallagher of the women’s lacrosse team earned the Women’s Medal of Merit, becoming the second-straight women’s lacrosse player to earn the distinction. Owning a GPA of just over 3.5, she helped the Greyhounds to the 2011 BIG EAST title and an appearance in the NCAA quarterfinal round. She was an all-conference first team selection in 2011 and also was named the team’s MVP this season.

Kevin Farrell was the recipient of the student service award. He was a key contributor to the men’s basketball program over his four years at Loyola as the team’s student-manager. He will graduate with a degree in business management, but as men’s basketball head coach Jimmy Patsos said, he “minored in basketball.” His efforts and organizational skills helped the Loyola men’s basketball team to its best season in school Division I history.

Women’s track & field athlete Brittany Gruber was presented with the Diane Geppi-Aikens Inspiration Award. Gruber recovered from a tragic accident in high school and has been an inspiration to the women’s track and field team in her time at Loyola. Her spirits are always up, motivating others to improve themselves and looking at all challenges in life as an opportunity.

The men’s rowing team and Head Coach Al Ramirez was tabbed for having the highest cumulative grade point average among the Greyhounds’ 18 teams.

In addition to the departmental awards, the following student athletes received awards from their respective teams:

Team Most Valuable Most Dedicated
Men’s Basketball Erik Etherly Shane Walker
Men’s Cross Country Matt Hassett DJ Puleo
Men’s Golf Jay Mulieri Andrew McGill
Men’s Lacrosse Mike Sawyer Pat Byrnes
Men’s Rowing Joe Wawrzynski Christopher Golon
Men’s Soccer Wade McHugh Kevin Curran
Men’s Swimming & Diving Brennan Morris Benjamin Duva
Men’s Tennis Kevin Zingler Keyan Sanai
Women’s Basketball Miriam McKenzie Julie Smith
Women’s Cross Country Gabrielle Cocco Stephanie Gibney
Women’s Lacrosse Kellye Gallagher Ana Heneberry
Women’s Rowing Catriona Miller Julianne Roccuzzo
Women’s Soccer Nichole Schiro Joie McLaughlin
Women’s Swimming & Diving Caitlin Cronin Mary Henkels
Women’s Tennis Rachel Janasek Judy Lite
Women’s Indoor Track & Field Samantha Westley Brittany Gruber
Women’s Outdoor Track & Field Jackie D’Antonio Emily Doucette
Women’s Volleyball Jac Bullock Elena Frac
Cheerleading Bridget Ehmann Brianna Jedlicka