Maryland’s Amato, Bernhardt named Tewaaraton nominees

April 27, 2013 | WNST Staff


WASHINGTON, April 26, 2013 – The Tewaaraton Foundation has announced the 2013 Tewaaraton Award men’s and women’s nominees, presented by Panama Jack. Twenty-five women and 25 men were selected as nominees, from which the 13th annual Tewaaraton Award 10 finalists (5 women, 5 men) will be selected and honored May 30, 2013, at the Smithsonian Institution’s National Museum of the American Indian in Washington, D.C.

The men’s award nominees include players from 20 schools, including 2012 winner Peter Baum (Colgate) and representatives from 16 of the current Top 20 teams in the April 22 USILA Men’s Division I Poll. Five schools had two players nominated, including Albany (Lyle Thompson, Ty Thompson), Cornell (Steve Mock, 2011 finalist Rob Pannell), Loyola (Scott Ratliff, 2012 finalist Mike Sawyer), Maryland (Niko Amato, Jesse Bernhardt) and Syracuse (JoJo Marasco, Brian Megill).

Each year, the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy – the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca and Tuscarora. This is The Year of the Mohawk and the men’s nominees include a member of the Akwesasne Mohawk Nation in Ty Thompson and a member of the Onondaga Nation in his cousin Lyle Thompson.

Men’s nominees are as follows:
Niko Amato, Maryland – Jr., GK
Peter Baum, Colgate – Sr., A
Jesse Bernhardt, Maryland – Sr., LSM
David DiMaria, Lehigh – Sr., A
Tucker Durkin, Johns Hopkins – Sr., D
John Glesener, Army – Soph., A/M
Marcus Holman, North Carolina – Sr., A
Austin Kaut, Penn State – Jr., GK
John Kemp, Notre Dame – Sr., GK
Eric Law, Denver – Sr., A
Brandon Mangan, Yale – Jr., A
JoJo Marasco, Syracuse – Sr., M
Kieran McArdle, St. John’s – Jr., A
Brian Megill, Syracuse – Sr., D
Steve Mock, Cornell – Sr., A
Rob Pannell, Cornell – Sr., A
Mason Poli, Bryant – Sr., LSM
Scott Ratliff, Loyola – Sr., LSM
Mike Sawyer, Loyola – Sr., A
Tom Schreiber, Princeton – Jr., M
Logan Schuss, Ohio State – Sr., A
Lyle Thompson, Albany – Soph., A
Ty Thompson, Albany – Jr., A
Dillon Ward, Bellarmine – Sr., GK
Jordan Wolf, Duke – Jr., A

The women’s award nominees include players from 16 schools, including 2012 winner Katie Schwarzmann (Maryland) and representatives from 13 of the current Top 20 teams in the April 22 IWLCA Division I Poll. Florida (Kitty Cullen, 2012 finalist Brittany Dashiell, Shannon Gilroy, Mikey Meagher) and Maryland (Alex Aust, Iliana Sanza, Schwarzmann) and Syracuse (Becca Block, Alyssa Murray, 2012 finalist Michelle Tumolo) lead all schools with four, three and three nominees respectively.

Women’s nominees are as follows:
Casey Ancarrow, James Madison – Sr., A
Alex Aust, Maryland – Sr., A
Becca Block, Syracuse – Sr., D
Kara Cannizzaro, North Carolina – Sr., M
Demmianne Cook, Stony Brook – Sr., M
Kitty Cullen, Florida – Sr., A
Taylor D’Amore, Johns Hopkins – Jr., A
Brittany Dashiell, Florida – Sr., M
Jasmine DePompeo, Navy – Sr., A
Danielle Etrasco, Boston University – Sr., A
Erin Fitzgerald, Northwestern – Sr., A
Shannon Gilroy, Florida – Soph., M
Kerrin Maurer, Duke – Soph., A
Maggie McCormick, Penn State – Soph., A
Mikey Meagher, Florida – Sr., GK
Alyssa Murray, Syracuse – Jr., A
Marlee Paton, Loyola – Jr., M
Mikaela Rix, Boston College – Soph., M
Iliana Sanza, Maryland – Sr., D
Katie Schwarzmann, Maryland – Sr., M
Barbara Sullivan, Notre Dame – Soph., D
Caroline Tarzian, Georgetown – Soph., A
Taylor Thornton, Northwestern – Sr., M
Michelle Tumolo, Syracuse – Sr., A
Taylor Virden, Duke – Jr., D

Five men’s and five women’s finalists will be announced May 9 and invited to the Tewaaraton Award Ceremony. The original men’s and women’s watch lists were announced Feb. 22, with additions made March 14 and April 11, and were ultimately comprised of 97 men’s players and 62 women’s players. Two of the men’s nominees were added in this round – Eric Law (Denver) and Dillon Ward (Bellarmine). The selection committees are comprised of 12 men’s and 10 women’s current and former coaches.

“We congratulate these 50 elite student-athletes on their remarkable accomplishments thus far this season,” said Jeff Harvey, chairman of the Tewaaraton Foundation. “With the help of our selection committees, we look forward to announcing this year’s finalists next month.”

For more information on the Tewaaraton Award, please visit Like and follow The
Tewaaraton Foundation at and

About The Tewaaraton Foundation
First presented in 2001, the Tewaaraton Award is recognized as the pre-eminent lacrosse award, annually honoring the top male and female college lacrosse players in the United States. Endorsed by the Mohawk Nation Council of Elders and U.S. Lacrosse, the Tewaaraton Award symbolizes lacrosse’s centuries-old roots in Native American heritage. The Tewaaraton Foundation ensures the integrity and advances the mission of this award. Each year, the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy – the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca and Tuscarora – and presents two scholarships to students of Native American descent. To learn more about The Tewaaraton Foundation, please visit