Stevenson opens title defense against Otterbein

May 05, 2014 | WNST Staff

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – The defending NCAA national champion Stevenson men’s lacrosse team will begin defense of its 2013 title on Wednesday, May 7 when the third-ranked Mustangs host Otterbein in the first round of the 2014 NCAA Division III Men’s Lacrosse Championship at Mustang Stadium beginning at 7:00 p.m.

Stevenson (17-2) is making its sixth-straight appeareance in the NCAA tournament and is 13-4 all-time with a record of 7-0 at Mustang
Stadium. The team is 2-0 in the first round, posting an 18-6 win over Christopher Newport in 2013 and a 13-2 victory versus
Birmingham-Southern in 2012.

The Mustangs, who won the first school’s national championship a year ago with a 16-14 victory over RIT at the Lincoln Financial Field in Philadelphia, have also advanced to the national semifinals four times since 2009.

Led by Most Valuable Player Brent Hiken who won 19-of-22 face-offs and totaled 19 ground balls, Stevenson won its second-straight
Commonwealth Conference championship with an 11-10 victory Saturday night at Mustang Stadium. The Mustangs boasted 14 All-Commonwealth Conference selections this season, including the Offensive Player of the Year, sophomore Stephen Banick.

Otterbein (12-4) is making its second-straight appearance in the NCAA Division III Men’s Lacrosse Championship after winning the inaugural Ohio Athletic Conference championship on Saturday with a 13-8 victory over John Carroll. The Cardinals received an at-large bid to the 30-team field.

Otterbein, who suffered a first round loss at Adrian in the first round a year ago, are led by senior Mikey O’Neal who leads the team
with 62 points this season, including a team-best 46 assists.

Should Stevenson advance, it will face a familiar opponent in the second round in either former President’s Athletic Conference rival
Cabrini or former Capital Athletic Conference foe Mary Washington on Saturday, May 10 at Mustang Stadium.