Three Terps named Scholar All-Americans

May 23, 2013 | WNST Staff

COLLEGE PARK, Md. – Three University of Maryland men’s lacrosse seniors were named to the 2013 USILA Scholar All-America team the United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association announced Wednesday.

Long pole Jesse Bernhardt earned his second USILA Scholar All-America award, becoming Maryland’s first-ever two-time honoree. He is joined on the 2013 team by attackman Owen Blye and midfielder Landon Carr.

Bernhardt, Blye and Carr each earned their degrees earlier this month. Bernhardt earned his bachelor’s degree in Criminology and Criminal Justice. Blye finished his degree in Operations Management, while Carr earned a degree in Kinesiology.

According to the USILA, the USILA Scholar All-America Program was established in 1989 to recognize student-athletes from USILA member institutions who have distinguished themselves academically, athletically and as citizens of their communities. The USILA Selection Committee selects an overall team representing Division I, II and III. The Scholar All-Americas are recognized at the annual Lacrosse All-America Banquet.

Maryland’s All-Time USILA Scholar All-Americans
2003 – Brett Harper, Mike Mollot
2004 – Paul Gillette, Chris Passavia
2005 – Ian Healy
2006 – Brendan Healy
2009 – Dan Groot, Jeff Reynolds
2010 – Brian Phipps
2011 – Grant Catalino, Brian Farrell, Brett Schmidt
2012 – Jesse Bernhardt, Joe Cummings, John Haus
2013 – Jesse Bernhardt, Owen Blye, Landon Carr