Tonight’s Orioles – Blue Jays Lineups

May 01, 2009 |

The Orioles have hit the road and will be in Toronto tonight when they take on the Blue Jays at 7:07 in the opener of a three-game weekend series at the Rogers Centre.  It’s also the first of a five-game trip against division opponents away from Baltimore as they’ll be in Tampa to play the Rays this coming Monday and Tuesday.

As they travel north of the border, unfortunately they bring with them a three-game losing streak, which has come on the tail end of a stretch where they’ve lost 11 of their last 14.  Not good, especially considering they’ll be playing a Blue Jays squad that has gotten off to nice start at 15-9 overall.

Mark Hendrickson will have the ball in his hands to start tonight’s game for the road team.  So far in his first season pitching for the Orioles the big left-hander hasn’t exactly put up big numbers; he’s just 1-3 with a 5.40 ERA in his four starts.  Almost amazingly, in his last appearance, a loss against Texas, he allowed a home run to the Rangers lead-off hitters in the first, second, and third innings.  And a little did you know tidbit… Hendrickson broke in with the Blue Jays and compiled a 12-9 record in the ’02 and ’03 seasons.

The Orioles’ starting nine will have the unenviable task of facing one of the game’s best starters when Roy Halladay stands 60 feet 6 inches from them this evening.  The Jays ace and workhorse has already picked up four wins this season and has been a rock in a Toronto rotation that has been devastated by injuries the last two seasons.  The 2005 A.L. Cy Young Award winner led the league in innings, complete games, and WHIP last year in ’08.  He also made two starts against the Birds last season and went 2-0, pitching seven-plus outstanding innings both times out.

Here are the teams’ batting orders:


Brian Roberts – 2B
Adam Jones – CF
Nick Markakis – RF
Aubrey Huff – 1B
Melvin Mora – 3B
Luke Scott – LF
Ty Wigginton – DH
Gregg Zaun – C
Cesar Izturis – SS

Blue Jays

Marco Scutaro – SS
Aaron Hill – 2B
Alex Rios – RF
Vernon Wells – CF
Adam Lind – DH
Scott Rolen – 3B
Kevin Millar – 1B
Rod Barajas – C
Jose Bautista – LF