Tonight’s Orioles – Mariners Lineups

June 03, 2009 |

The Orioles and Seattle Mariners will square off in the rubber-game of their three game set tonight at Safeco Field with first pitch scheduled for 10:10pm EST.

The O’s will need to rebound from last night’s 8-2 loss in order to win the first of their two series out on the West Coast.  Rookie David Hernandez allowed five earned on 10 hits in 5.1 innings of work and took the loss to even his record at 1-1 through his two major league starts.  His effort ended a streak of four straight quality starts thrown by Oriole starting pitchers.  Meanwhile former Bird, Erik Bedard tossed a heck of a game for the Mariners and went 6.1 innings, in which he gave up just one run and struck out seven Orioles.  His performance gave him his fourth win on the season and lowered his ERA to a rather minuscule 2.37.

This evening the Orioles will send to the mound a rookie for the second consecutive night, this time right-hander Brad Bergesen.  It will be Bergesen’s ninth start of the season and comes on the heels of his best performance as a major leaguer.  Last week at Camden Yards Bergesen stifled Tiger batters over eight-plus innings and surrendered just two runs scattered over seven hits.  Through his total eight starts, he’s gone an even 2-2 with an ERA of 4.94.

The M’s will send yet another lefty to the mound tonight when Jason Vargas makes the start for manager Don Wakamatsu.  Vargas has spent the last three seasons up and down from the minors and battling injuries in the Florida Marlins and New York Mets organizations, before presumably finding a home in the Pacific Northwest.  He’s been really nothing short of spectacular, he’s registered a 1.65 ERA in his six appearances in a Mariner uniform this season, with the first two coming out of the bullpen.  His last outing was last week in Anaheim when he picked up a win over the Angels, who managed just two runs over 6.1 innings against Vargas.

These are tonight’s starting lineups:


Brian Roberts – 2B
Adam Jones – CF
Nick Markakis – RF
Aubrey Huff – 1B
Melvin Mora – 3B
Luke Scott – DH
Matt Wieters – C
Nolan Reimold – LF
Cesar Izturis – SS


Ichiro Suzuki – RF
Russell Branyan – 1B
Adrian Beltre – 3B
Ken Griffey Jr. – DH
Jose Lopez – 2B
Yuniesky Betancourt – SS
Rob Johnson – C
Ronny Cedeno – LF
Franklin Gutierrez – CF

Ichiro extended his hitting streak to 26 games after this first inning infield single. (Courtesy: AP)