Tag Archive | "ed block courage award"

Tags: , , , ,

McClain named Ravens’ Ed Block Courage Award recipient

Posted on 03 December 2013 by WNST Staff

LB Jameel McClain is voted the 2013 Baltimore Ravens Ed Block Courage Award recipient.


December 4th, 2013 – Baltimore, Md. – The Ed Block Courage Award Foundation has announced that LB Jameel McClain is the recipient of the 2013 Ed Block Courage Award for the Baltimore Ravens. McClain suffered a spinal cord contusion in Baltimore’s 2012 week 13 game against the Washington Redskins. Jameel was placed on IR and was told by at least one doctor that he would never play the game of football again. McClain never lost belief in his ability to recover from his injury. He was placed on the PUP list to start the 2013 season. After sitting out the required six weeks he returned to action in week seven against the Pittsburgh Steelers.

“People counted me out,” McClain stated. “I was told I’d never play again and that I should focus on life after football. But I wasn’t going to succumb. All I could do was believe in myself, which I’ve always done. I fought the odds before, and I’ll fight the odds again. I’ve always believed in myself and tuned out the negativity. If you look now, I’m still here – still doing what I love and fighting for my team.”
Off the field, McClain is highly active in the Baltimore community. Since arriving in Baltimore, McClain has forged a strong relationship with the Salvation Army Baltimore Area Command. McClain, who spent a period of his lifetime living out of a Salvation Army shelter, makes a conscious effort to give back to the organization. Annually, McClain hosts 53 Families, a Thanksgiving food drive, and kicks off the annual Red Kettle Campaign as its spokesperson.

The Courage Award is named after Ed Block, the longtime head athletic trainer of the Baltimore Colts who was a pioneer in his profession and a respected humanitarian. Some of his most significant contributions came in the tireless manner in which he gave of himself to help improve the lives of children. He stood for courage and championed the cause of those whodisplayed that characteristic. His work and philosophy continue today through the Foundation that bears his name.The Foundation’s efforts are endorsed by the NFL and the Professional Football Athletic Trainers Society (PFATS).

Comments Off on McClain named Ravens’ Ed Block Courage Award recipient

Tags: , , , ,

Suggs named Ravens’ 2012 Ed Block Courage Award winner

Posted on 08 November 2012 by WNST Staff

After what many considered to be a miraculous recovery from a torn Achilles tendon, linebacker Terrell Suggs was voted the Ravens’ 2012 recipient of the Ed Block Courage Award.

Voted on by NFL players, the honor recognizes one player from each team who displays principles of sportsmanship and courage.

The 30-year-old Suggs suffered a partially-torn Achilles tendon in late April but vowed in early May to return to action this season despite many injury experts saying it would be nearly impossible. After less than six months of rehabilitation, Suggs made his season debut against the Houston Texans on Oct. 21.

The 2011 Defensive Player of the Year collected a sack in his first game back and fulfilled his promise made to fans that he would return by the middle of the season.

The Ed Block Courage Award Foundation is “dedicated to improving the lives of abused, neglected and at-risk children and ending the cycle of abuse. The purpose is to raise awareness and prevention of child abuse.”

The ceremony honoring players from around the NFL is held in Baltimore in March.

Comments Off on Suggs named Ravens’ 2012 Ed Block Courage Award winner