Tag Archive | "Independent Coach of the Year"

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Navy QB Reynolds, coach Niumatalolo pick up independent honors

Posted on 22 December 2013 by WNST Staff

SB Nation Names Keenan Reynolds Independent Offensive Player Of The Year; Ken Niumatalolo Independent Coach Of the Year

ANNAPOLIS, Md.—SB Nation has tabbed Navy sophomore quarterback Keenan Reynolds its Independent Offensive Player of the Year and Navy head coach Ken Niumatalolo the Independent Coach of the Year.  BYU linebacker Kyle Van Noy was the Independent Defensive Player of the Year.

In just his second season at Navy, Reynolds is well on his way to rewriting the school and national record books, establishing an NCAA single-season record for rushing touchdowns by a quarterback with 29 this season, tying the NCAA record for most touchdowns in a game against an FBS opponent (7 vs. San Jose State), scoring a program-best 42 points against San Jose State, breaking a nearly 100-year-old season scoring mark at Navy with 176 points (174 by Bill Ingram in 1917) and smashing the school record for points responsible for in a season with 224. He needs one rushing touchdown to become just the fourth person in FBS history to rush for 30 or more touchdowns in a single-season.

Niumatalolo led Navy to an 8-4 mark, a bowl game for the 10th time in the last 11 years and the Commander-In-Chief’s Trophy for the ninth time in the last 11 years. The Mids went undefeated at home and beat Army for a 12th-consecutive time.  Niumatalolo is 48-30 in his sixth year as the head coach, which is the most wins in school history for a coach in his first six years.  His 48 wins are third all-time in Navy history, trailing Eddie Erdelatz (1950-58) by just two for second and George Welsh (1973-81) by just seven wins for first.

Navy will play Middle Tennessee State on Dec. 30 in Fort Worth, Texas. Kickoff is set for 10:45 AM in Fort Worth, 11:45 AMin Annapolis. Tickets are on sale now at: http://bit.ly/1gCmTns

Comments Off on Navy QB Reynolds, coach Niumatalolo pick up independent honors