Tag Archive | "Jeff Manto"

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Former Oriole Manto elected to International League Hall of Fame

Posted on 28 January 2014 by WNST Staff


The International League announced today that former League MVP Jeff Manto, current Scranton/WB RailRiders manager Dave Miley, and current Toledo broadcaster Jim Weber will be inducted into the circuit’s Hall of Fame as members of the Class of 2014. The three men were elected to the IL Hall by a vote of living Hall of Famers, longtime executives, broadcasters, and members of the media.

Members of the Class of 2014 have been added to the International League Hall of Fame plaque display. The inductees will be presented with “The Curtain Call” statue during individual enshrinement ceremonies to take place during the coming season. The IL Hall of Fame plaque display does not have a permanent home, but rather serves as a traveling testament to the storied legacy of the International League.

Former infielder and outfielder Jeff Manto hit .275 with 125 home runs with seven different IL clubs between 1992 and 2000. He was the League’s Most Valuable Player in 1994, a season split between Norfolk and Rochester. He was a star of the Buffalo teams that won the American Association title in 1997 and the Governors’ Cup in 1998, later becoming just one of three players in Bisons history to have his uniform number retired.

Winner of well over 1,000 games in the League, Dave Miley earns induction in the midst of a distinguished career as an IL manager. Miley, who also piloted the Cincinnati Reds for parts of three seasons from 2003 to 2005, is a two-time IL Manager of the Year. He was at the helm for the only Governors’ Cup titles in the history of both the Louisville and Scranton/Wilkes-Barre franchises.

Rounding out the Class of 2014 is the first broadcaster elected to the IL Hall of Fame, Jim Weber, who was honored this past season for calling his 5,000th consecutive game for the Toledo Mud Hens. Weber also works on the club’s television broadcasts and has served as Toledo’s traveling secretary since 1984.

Only three IL Hall of Famers have ever spent time in the League in an on-field capacity after their induction, one player (Rocky Nelson) and two managers (Tommy Thomas and George Toporcer). Dave Miley will join this list in 2014, along with Class of 2013 inductee Larry Parrish who is returning to Toledo as manager.

The IL Hall of Fame, established in 1947, was dormant from 1964 until the League’s 125th Anniversary season in 2008. Following a three-year transition period (2008-10) in which a total of 50 individuals were inducted after having been selected by a committee, the Class of 2014 was the fourth chosen by what will continue to serve as the annual election process. Each year the top three vote-getters who also receive a vote on the majority of ballots returned will be elected.

Complete statistical data and biographical information on all 113 members of the IL Hall of Fame, along with a copy of the International League Hall of Fame policies, procedures, and guidelines are available at www.ILBaseball.com.

Comments Off on Former Oriole Manto elected to International League Hall of Fame