Tag Archive | "MAAC Championship Game"

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Loyola announces MAAC hoops schedule

Posted on 14 September 2012 by WNST Staff

Game At Meadowlands Highlights Men’s Basketball’s MAAC Slate

BALTIMORE – Loyola University Maryland men’s basketball will open its 2012-2013 Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference schedule with a home game on Wednesday, December 5, against Niagara University, three days before theGreyhounds will take on Saint Peter’s University in a college hoops doubleheader at the Izod Center.

Loyola and the Peacocks will play the first of two games on Saturday, December 8, in the complex at the Meadowlands in East Rutherford,N.J., prior to a contest between Duke University and Temple University.

The Greyhounds finished the 2011-2012 season with a 13-5 mark in MAAC action its best-ever league record, en route to a school Division I best 24-9 record.

“The MAAC has great coaches and great players, and that is what makes every game tough,” Head Coach Jimmy Patsos said. “It doesn’t matter if you are home or away, the teams make it so that every game is a great environment, and it makes it so that you look forward to every game as a new challenge.”

After completing 2012 with three non-conference games, the Greyhounds will open the new year with a Friday, January 4, game versus Rider University at Reitz Arena. Last season, the Greyhounds and Broncs played before a sellout crowd in Loyola’s venue, the first of two-straight capacity crowds in Reitz.

Saint Peter’s will make the trip to Baltimore on Sunday, January 6, and Fairfield University will wrap up a three-game homestand for the Greyhounds on Friday, January 11.

The Greyhounds, who won the 2012 MAAC Championship and advanced to the NCAA Tournament for just the second time in school history,will play their first road contest of 2013 on Sunday, January 13, at Rider in Lawrenceville, N.J.

A home game against Marist College on Thursday, January 17, will be on the schedule before Loyola faces Fairfield in Bridgeport, Conn., on Martin Luther King Day, Monday, January 21.

Loyola will hit New York City on Friday, January 25, for a game at Manhattan College before returning to Retiz Arena for a Sunday, January 27, contest versus Iona College.

The Greyhounds make their annual sojourn in Western New York with games at Canisius College on Thursday, January 31, before taking on Niagara on Saturday, February 2. Last year, the Greyhounds swept the road trip in the Buffalo area for the first time in the school’s MAAC history.

Siena College visits the Evergreen Campus on Friday, February 8, just before Loyola travels to Poughkeepsie, N.Y., for a Sunday,February 10, game at Marist College.

Canisius is in Baltimore for a Valentine’s Day game on Thursday, February 14, and two days later Loyola will visit Albany, N.Y., for a Saturday, February 16, matchup with Siena.

A step out of conference play during the weekend of February 22-24 for a Bracketbuster road contest will come before the final weekend of league action.

Loyola visits Westchester County on Friday, March 1, for a date with Iona before closing the regular-season at home against Manhattan on Sunday, March 3.

Springfield, Mass., will again host the MAAC Championships, beginning on Friday, March 8, and culminating with the Championship Game onMonday, March 11.

Dates of all Loyola contests are subject to change, and times will be announced at a later date. Television details will also be distributed in the coming weeks.

Comments (0)