Tag Archive | "Walter Camp Player of the Year Award"

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Maryland DL Vellano named to Walter Camp Award watch list

Posted on 20 July 2012 by WNST Staff

NEW HAVEN, Conn. – Maryland senior defensive lineman Joe Vellano has been named to the watch list for the Walter Camp Player of the Year Award, marking the fifth different watch list the All-American has been named to in the past two weeks.

Vellano is one of 11 players on the list that earned Walter Camp All-America honors last season. The 50-man watch list includes both offensive and defensive players and will be narrowed to 10 semi-finalists in mid-November. The 2012 award recipient, which is voted on by the 124 NCAA Bowl Subdivision head coaches and sports information directors, will be announced live on SportsCenter on Dec. 6.

Vellano has started in each of the last 25 games for Maryland, averaging 6.3 tackles per game over that span. His 7.8 tackles per game last season led all FBS linemen.
Joe Vellano’s Watch Lists

Bednarik Award (best defensive player)

Bronco Nagurski Trophy (best defensive player)

Lombardi Award (open to all down linemen)

Outland Trophy (best interior lineman)

Walter Camp Award (player of the year)
About the Walter Camp Player of the Year Award

Walter Camp, “The Father of American football,” first selected an All-America team in 1889. Camp – a former Yale University athlete and football coach – is also credited with developing play from scrimmage, set plays, the numerical assessment of goals and tries and the restriction of play to eleven men per side. The Walter Camp Football Foundation (www.waltercamp.org) – a New Haven-based all-volunteer group – was founded in 1967 to perpetuate the ideals of Camp and to continue the tradition of selecting annually an All-America team.

The Foundation is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game’s predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association’s website, www.ncfaa.org.

– Terps –

Comments Off on Maryland DL Vellano named to Walter Camp Award watch list