Coppin, Morgan Players Honored By NABC

March 14, 2012 | WNST Staff

KANSAS CITY, Mo. — Coppin State seniors Michael Harper and Tony Gallo were each named to the National Association of Basketball Coaches All-District 15 team as selected by the member coaches of the NABC.

Harper was named to the first team and Gallo was named to the second team.

Harper averaged 11.8 points and 3.0 rebounds per game and led the Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference shooting 41.7 percent from the three-point line. He was second on the team with 68 three-point baskets and also shot 73.8 percent from the free throw line.

Gallo was honored on the second team after leading the Eagles averaging 17.1 points per game. He led the Eagles in scoring, three-point baskets, free throws made and assists.

Joining Harper on the first team was Kyle O’Quinn of Norfolk State, Darrion Pellum of Hampton and Dewayne Jackson and Kevin Thompson of Morgan State.

The second team was comprised of Gallo, Chris McEachin of Norfolk State, Dominique Sutton of North Carolina Central, Brandon Riley of South Carolina State and Garrius Holloman of Bethune-Cookman.