Coppin’s Gallo, Cephas Honored By MEAC

March 05, 2012 | WNST Staff

NORFOLK, Va. — Coppin State senior Tony Gallo has been selected to the Mid-Eastern Athletic All-Conference First Team and freshman Taariq Cephas was named to the All-Rookie Team the league announced on Sunday as selected by the conference head coaches and sports information directors.

Gallo was joined on the first team by Player of the Year Kyle O’Quinn of Norfolk State, Darrion Pellum of Hampton, Jay Threatt of Delaware State and Dominique Sutton of North Carolina Central.

Gallo was the Eagles most consistent player during the season and led the team averaging 17.0 points per game and 78 three-point baskets. He also averaged 3.8 assists, 2.6 rebounds and 1.3 steals per game.

He reached double figures in scoring in 24 games this season and topped 20 points in 13 different games.

Cephas earned All-Rookie honors after averaging 5.7 points and 2.0 rebounds per game. He also shot 39.7 percent from the three-point line and averaged 2.4 assists per game.

Coppin State will open MEAC Tournament play on Tuesday (March 6) against Florida A&M at 9 p.m. in the Lawrence Joel Veteran’s Memorial Coliseum in Winston-Salem, N.C.

He was joined on the All-Rookie Team by Rookie of the Year Tahj Tate of Delaware State, Tyshawn Bell of Delaware State, Prince Okoroh of Howard and Ishaq Pitt of Maryland Eastern Shore.

The all-conference second team was comprised of Ray Willis of North Carolina Central, Tate of Delaware State and Marques Oliver, Chris McEachin of Norfolk State and Deric Rudolph and Rashad Hassan of Savannah State.

O’Quinn was also named the Defensive Player of the Year and Horace Broadnax of Savannah State was named the Coach of the Year.