#WNSTSweet16 – The 16 local athletes who never won a title, but deserved to win one

January 28, 2014 | Drew Forrester


Former Colts quarterback Bert Jones is #10, spending nine seasons in Baltimore with the Colts but failing to win a championship.  Jones engineered the Colts to three consecutive AFC East titles but Baltimore lost in the first round of the playoffs in each of those post-season efforts.  With the weight of being the heir apparent to Johnny Unitas on his shoulders, Jones delivered almost immediately for the Baltimore football faithful and earned the AP’s NFL MVP award in 1976.  He was injured in a 1978 pre-season game and that shoulder injury curtailed nearly all of his playing time in ’78 and ’79 and the Colts struggled mightily without him behind center.

(Please see next page for #9)

1 Comments For This Post

  1. Ruben Says:

    Great list. My only quibble is including Rosie Napravnick. She is entering the prime of her jockey career. Given her familiarity with Pimlico, Belmont and Churchill (where she is based in May and June) she will have many more cracks at a Triple Crown win.

Leave a Reply