Maryland running back Johnson named to Doak Walker Award watch list

July 20, 2017 | WNST Staff


COLLEGE PARK, Md. – Maryland junior running back Ty Johnson has been named to the Doak Walker Award watch list on Thursday by the PwC SMU Athletic Forum.

The Doak Walker Award recognizes the nation’s premier running back for his accomplishments on the field and achievements in the classroom, citizenship and community.

In 2016, Johnson led the Terps in rushing yards (1,004), rushing touchdowns (6), yards per carry (9.1) and all-purpose yards (1,249). He set the Maryland record for yards per rush attempt with 9.1 yards per carry, breaking a 55-year-old record.

The Cumberland, Maryland native became just the ninth player in Maryland history to eclipse 1,000 rushing yards in a season. Johnson totaled 10 plays (9 rush, 1 rec) of 40+ yards, each occurring in the last 10 games of the season. He also posted five games of 100+ rush yards, becoming just the eighth Maryland player to eclipse the mark five times in a season.

The Doak Walker Award winner will be announced at the 2017 Home Depot College Football Awards on Dec. 7, 2017. The Doak Walker Presentation Banquet will be held Feb. 16, 2018.

Find a full list of 2017 Doak Walker Award candidates here.

Maryland players have now been named to eight preseason watch lists. They include: senior linebacker Jermaine Carter Jr. – Bednarik Award (National Defensive Player of the Year), Butkus Award (top linebacker); senior kicker Adam Greene – Allstate AFCA Good Works, Wuerffell Trophy (community service); junior running back Ty Johnson – Doak Walker (top running back); sophomore punter Wade Lees – Ray Guy Award (top punter); junior center Brendan Moore – Rimington Trophy (top center); junior wide receiver D.J. Moore – Paul Hornung Award (most versatile player).