Morgan AD Kerr named to MEAC Executive Committee

May 31, 2012 | WNST Staff

NORFOLK, Va. – The Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) announced that Norfolk State University’s Faculty Athletic Representative (FAR) Dr. Carray Banks was named President of the MEAC Delegate Assembly.  Banks will be a member of the MEAC Executive Committee from 2012-2014 and will chair the FAR association.
Morgan State University’s Director of Athletics Floyd Kerr and Mary Hill, Senior Woman Administrator for South Carolina State University join Banks on the Executive Committee and will serve as Vice Presidents.  Kerr will also serve as chair of the Director of Athletics’ association and Hill will also serve as chair of the SWA association.
“I would like to congratulate and welcome President Banks and Vice Presidents Kerr and Hill to the MEAC Executive Committee,” said Commissioner Dennis Thomas.  “Founded in 1979, the MEAC is made up of its member institutions and is led by 13 outstanding Council of Chief Executive Officers. I look forward to working with the new committee members to move the conference forward both athletically and academically.”
Under the direction of the Council of Chief Executive Officers (CCEO) the Delegate Assembly is the operating body for administration of the MEAC.  Each member institution is represented in the Delegate Assembly by three individuals; the Faculty Athletic Representative (FAR), the Director of Athletics and the Senior Woman Administrator.  The Delegate Assembly meets regularly twice each year, once in the winter and again in the spring.  All officers of the Delegate Assembly are rotated on a regular basis among the member institutions.
Rotating out of office are Dr. Ivis Forrester (President) of Morgan State University; Keith Davidson (VP) of the University of Maryland Eastern Shore; and Faydre Hawkins-Brown (VP) of Florida A&M University.
“I want to thank Dr. Forrester, Mr. Davidson and Ms. Hawkins-Brown for their service as the leaders of the conference for the past two years,” said Commissioner Thomas.  “I am grateful to the outgoing Executive Committee members for their leadership and continuous efforts to uphold the conference’s Constitution and Bylaws.”