Navy football set to open summer camp Friday

August 01, 2013 | WNST Staff

Navy Set to Open Preseason Camp

• Sixth-year Navy head football coach Ken Niumatalolo will open the 2013 season when the Midshipmen report for fall camp on Friday, Aug. 2, and will hold the first day of practice on Saturday, Aug. 3 following Media Day.

• Because Navy will be idle the first week of the season, the Mids will have just one two-a-day practice session at this year’s camp (Monday, Aug. 12).

• This year’s Media Day / FanFest will be held on Saturday, Aug. 3  from 10 am-12-noon at Navy-Marine Corps Memorial Stadium.

• The team will hold its annual Blue & Gold Scrimmage at Navy-Marine Corps Memorial Stadium on Saturday, Aug. 10 at 10 am.

• The first day of classes is Monday, Aug. 19.

• Navy will resume its normal Monday-Friday practice schedule on Aug. 19, practicing daily from 4-6 pm.

• The Midshipmen kick off their season on Sept. 7 at Indiana.


Aiken and Peterson Named Team Captains

• Navy head football coach Ken Niumatalolo announced at the annual Navy football banquet that senior linebacker Cody Peterson and senior wide receiver Matt Aiken have been elected team captains for the 2013 football season by their teammates.

• “Being elected team captain at the Naval Academy is one of the highest honors you can receive at an institution that prides itself on producing great leaders,” said Niumatalolo. “Cody and Matt are great leaders on and off the field and there is no question in my mind that they will do a great job. They both work extremely hard and will set an example for the entire team.”

• Peterson played in all 12 games last fall, starting the final eight at inside linebacker. He finished with 67 tackles, two tackles for a loss and a forced fumble. Peterson recorded 10 tackles in Navy’s overtime victory over Air Force and a career-high 14 tackles against Army.

• Aiken has seen action in 33 games over his career and is a three-year letterwinner. He missed the first four games last year after suffering a knee injury during fall camp.  He came back to catch seven passes for 61 yards and two touchdowns, including the game-winning touchdown with 2:02 remaining in Navy’s 31-30 come-from-behind victory over Indiana. Aiken has 20 catches for 262 yards and four touchdowns in his career.


Montalvo Returns To Team

• Freshman quarterback Ralph Montalvo was involved in a serious automobile accident last year on Thanksgiving night while home in Miami.

• Montalvo was the passenger in a single-vehicle accident and was in critical condition at Kendall Regional Medical Center in Miami before being released from the hospital.

• He spent time in Miami and Richmond, Va. rehabiliating from his injuries and was able to return to the Academy in July.

• Montalvo will be a freshman academically and will be held out of contact until at least November of this year.  He has three years of athletic eligibility remaining.

• Montalvo is a 2011 graduate of La Salle High, where he lettered in football, track and field and lacrosse. He earned Honorable Mention All-State (Fla.) honors in football and was selected as the team’s Most Valuable Player as a senior.


Reynolds on 2013  Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award Watch List

• Navy’s Keenan Reynolds is one of 34 quarterbacks, including the only sophomore, named to the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award Watch List announced by the Davey O’Brien Foundation.

• This year’s list, which was compiled by a subset of the Davey O’Brien National Selection Committee, were selected based on player performance during the previous year and expectations heading into the 2013 college football season.

• The 2012 Davey O’Brien Winner, Johnny Manziel (Texas A&M) and 2012 finalist Braxton Miller (Ohio State) join five 2012 semifinalists on the Watch List: Tajh Boyd (Clemson), Teddy Bridgewater (Louisville), Marcus Mariota (Oregon), AJ McCarron (Alabama) and Aaron Murray (Georgia).

• Reynolds started the final eight games as a freshman in 2012 and led the Mids to a 6-2 record in his eight starts and was responsible for three fourth-quarter comebacks (Air Force, Indiana and Army).  He was just the third freshman in program history to start at quarterback and the first since 1991.

• Reynolds was named the Independent Rookie of the Year by the nationwide media panel responsible for the FBS Indpendent Player of the Week awards.  He anchored an offensive unit that finished the year ranked sixth nationally in rushing offense, averaging 278.46 yards per game.

• He accounted for 19 TDs on the year (nine passing, 10 rushing) and finished his freshman campaign with 649 yards rushing and 10 touchdowns on 162 carries, while completing 61 of his 108 pass attempts for 898 yards with nine touchdowns and just two interceptions.

• Reynolds had at least one rushing touchdown in five of his eight starts and threw at least one touchdown pass in five of his eight starts.  He was the first Navy quarterback to win his first four career starts since senior Bob Powers, who won his first six career starts in 1979.

• Appearing on the Watch List is not a requirement for a player to win the Davey O’Brien Award. Quarterbacks from all 125 NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) schools are eligible for the award until the field is narrowed to 16 semifinalists on Monday, Nov. 4. The Foundation and the Selection Committee will announce three finalists on Monday, Nov. 25. The 2013 Davey O’Brien Winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, Dec. 12.

• The 37th Annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner will be held Feb. 17, 2014 in Fort Worth, Texas.


Beltran Named Preseason First-Team All-Independent By Phil Steele

• Junior punter Pablo Beltran was the only Navy player selected to the Preseason First-Team All-Independent Team by Phil Steele in his 2013 College Football Preview Magazine.

• Beltran averaged 43.6 yards per punt on 44 punts last year as a sophomore, which was the third-best punting average in school history. Fifteen of his 44 punts were fair caught and 18 were downed inside the 20.  He had 11 punts of 50 yards or more.

• Beltran is averaging 40.9 yards per punt on 79 punts in his career, which is the third-best average in school history.  The school record for career punting average is 42.5 yards per punt by John Skaggs from 2000-03.

• Sophomore quarterback Keenan Reynolds, junior center Tanner Fleming, junior guard Jake Zuzek, senior kick returner Marcus Thomas and junior punter returner Shawn Lynch were named to the second team, while junior fullbackNoah Copeland, senior tackle Graham Vickers, senior defensive end Evan Palelei, senior linebacker Cody Peterson, junior corner Parrish Gaines and junior kicker Nick Sload were all named to the third team.

• There are seven schools that will be an Independent in 2013:  Army, Navy, Notre Dame, BYU, Old Dominion, New Mexico State and Idaho.