QB Brown named Team MVP at Maryland football banquet

December 15, 2013 | WNST Staff

COLLEGE PARK, Md. – The University of Maryland football team announced its 2013 season awards during the annual awards banquet on Sunday. Head coach Randy Edsall and his staff handed out 11 total awards, including the Ray Krouse Memorial Award, sponsored by Capital One Bank, for the team’s Most Valuable Player which was presented to C.J. Brown.

After missing last season, Brown returned in 2013 and became the first Maryland player to throw for over 2,000 yards and rush for over 500 yards in the same season. The senior signal caller threw for 2,045 yards and 11 touchdowns, while rushing for 538 yards and 12 touchdowns. Brown had four 100-yard rushing games this season including a season-high 138 yards in the regular-season finale at NC State, which is the third-highest single-game total for a quarterback in school history. For his efforts, Brown was named the ACC Offensive Back of the Week. His 23 touchdowns responsible for this season is the third most in school history.

In one of the more emotional moments of the banquet, Edsall presented Dexter McDougle with the inaugural Dexter McDougle Ultimate Team Player Award to close the event. Before suffering a season-ending injury at Connecticut on Sept. 14, McDougle had registered three interceptions in the Terps first three games. Despite the injury, McDougle remained a constant presence at Gossett Football Team House. He attended meetings, traveled to away games, sat in the coaches’ booth during games, and mentored and assisted other members of the team throughout the remainder of the season.

The complete list of award-winners is below:

Tony Perry: The George C. Cook Memorial Award for the senior with the highest academic average.

P.J. Gallo: The George Boutselis Memorial Award for the player who both lettered in football while attaining the highest GPA on the team and has adhered to the goals of the student-athlete ideal.

Sal Conaboy: The Public Service Award for the student athlete that has committed to serving and having a positive influence in the community.

Tony Perry: The Dr. John E. Faber Award for Iron Man, which is named after Dr. John E. Faber, who coached men’s lacrosse for 35 years and finished his coaching career with a record of 249 wins and only 57 losses, including national championship teams.

Matt Robinson: The A.V. Williams Award for Outstanding & Conspicuous Sportsmanship Award for the student athlete that best displays outstanding & conspicuous sportsmanship during the course of the year.

Greg Parcher: The Alvin L. Aubinoe Unsung Hero Trophy for the student athlete that best displays the true meaning of teamwork without regard for his personal goals.

Andre Monroe: The James M. Tatum Memorial Award for Lineman of the Year.

William Likely: Special Teams Player of the Year Award.

Marcus Whitfield: Defensive Player of the Year Award in memory of Herman Grabenstein.

C.J. Brown: Offensive Player of the Year Award in honor of Larry Grabenstein.

C.J. Brown: Ray Krouse Memorial Award for Team’s Most Valuable Player.

Dexter McDougle: The Dexter McDougle Ultimate Team Player Award