Vellano Named Terps MVP At Annual Banquet

December 11, 2011 | Glenn Clark

Vellano and Gonnella take home the hardware

COLLEGE PARK, Md. – The University of Maryland officially capped the 2011 football season Sunday afternoon at Stamp Student Union with its annual banquet.

The Terps said a final goodbye to 16 student-athletes who completed their eligibility in Randy Edsall’s first season as head coach.

Despite having a roster made up of mostly players from the state of Maryland, it was a pair of New York natives who collected the most hardware.

Joe Vellano led the way by taking home three awards. The junior from Rexford, N.Y., was named the Ray Krouse Award winner as team MVP, best defensive player and top lineman.

Vellano racked up 94 tackles, including 7.5 tackles for loss and 2.5 sacks, four pass breakups and two fumble recoveries this season. He was a first team All-Atlantic Coast Conference choice and a second team Walter Camp All-American.

Gonnella, a native of Monroe, N.Y., secured the George C. Cook Memorial Award for the senior with the highest grade-point average and the C.P. “Lefty” McIntosh Public Service Award.

Gonnella’s final season was cut short due to a knee injury suffered against Georgia Tech (Oct. 8).

Seniors Austin Walker (top special teams performer), Tim Downs (Alvin L. Aubinoe Award as the unsung hero) and Trenton Hughes (A.V. Williams Award for Outstanding & Conspicuous Sportsmanship) also picked up awards.

Davin Meggett, who ranks seventh on the Maryland career rushing list (2,411), was named the team’s top offensive player.

Johnny Holliday, who just completed his 33rd year as the play-by-play voice of the Terps, served as master of ceremonies for the event.

2011 Maryland Football – Postseason Team Awards

Top Special Teams Performer – Austin Walker

A.V. Williams Award for Outstanding & Conspicuous Sportsmanship – Trenton Hughes

George C. Cook Memorial Award for the senior with the highest GPA – Andrew Gonnella

George Boutselis Memorial Award for letterman with the highest GPA – Ryan Schlothauer

Alvin L. Aubinoe Award as the unsung hero – Tim Downs

C.P. “Lefty” McIntosh Public Service Award sponsored by Don & Terry Wilson – Andrew Gonnella

James M. Tatum Award for Lineman of the Year – Joe Vellano

Dr. John E. Faber Award for Iron Man – Kevin Dorsey

Most Valuable Offensive Player – Davin Meggett

Most Valuable Defensive Player – Joe Vellano

Ray Krouse Award for Most Valuable Player – Joe Vellano

Distinguished Contributor Award – Larry and Cheryl Grabenstein

Captains Award – Andrew Gonnella, Davin Meggett, Kenny Tate, Joe Vellano