Towson RB West named to Walter Payton Award Watch List

July 08, 2013 | WNST Staff


Tiger Running Back Among 20 Nominees For Top Award In FCS Football

PHILADELPHIA, Pa. – Junior running back Terrance West (Northwestern H.S./Baltimore, Md.) of Towson University has been named as one of 20 finalists for the Walter Payton Award which is presented to top player in FCS football each year by The Sports Network.

West, who was the winner of the Jerry Rice Award as the top freshman in FCS football in 2011, is a two-time All-American for the Tiger football team. A two-time All-Colonial Athletic Association first team selection, West has rushed for 2,340 yards in 21 games for the Tigers.

As a freshman, he ran for 1,294 yards and scored 29 touchdowns, a mark that led FCS football. As a sophomore, he picked up 1,046 yards and scored 14 touchdowns. He is already the fifth-leading rusher in school history. In his career, he has scored 44 touchdowns, the second-highest total in school history.

West is one of 11 finalists returning from last year’s ballot. Quarterbacks Jimmy Garoppolo of Eastern Illinois, Jamal Jackson of Appalachian State, Gavin McCarney of Colgate, DeNarius McGhee of Montana State and Wynrick Smothers of Central Arkansas are candidates for the 27thannual Payton Award. Running backs Zach Bauman of Northern Arizona, Shakir Bell of Indiana State, Timothy Flanders of Sam Houston State and Zach Zenner of South Dakota State join wide receiver Erik Lora of Eastern Illinois from last year’s finalists.

Past winners of the FCS’ most coveted award include Steve McNair, Tony Romo, Brian Westbrook, Brian Finneran, John Friesz and Armanti Edwards, the only two-time recipient.

In 1988, David Meggett of Towson was the second winner of the Payton Award.

Bell, West and Flanders were also finalists in 2011. McGhee was a finalist in each of his first three seasons, starting in 2010.

Lora and McCarney are the highest returning vote-getters from the 2012 Payton race. They finished fourth and fifth, respectively. Lora set an FCS single season record with 136 receptions for Eastern Illinois. McCarney ranked ninth nationally in total offense for Colgate and led the Raiders to the Patriot League championship.

The Payton Award Watch List can undergo revision during the 2013 season. Ballots will be sent to a panel of 175 sports information and media relations directors, broadcasters, writers and other dignitaries following the regular season. The top three vote-getters will be invited to The Sports Network FCS Awards Presentation on December 16.