Towson wins Lambert Meadowlands Award

January 07, 2014 | WNST Staff


Towson Named As Unanimous Winner Of Award Presented To Top Team In East

CENTERVILLE, Mass. – After finishing the season as the NCAA FCS runner-up to North Dakota State University, Coach Rob Ambrose and the Towson University football team have been named as the unanimous winners of the Lambert Meadowlands Award presented to the top FCS team in the East.

The Tigers, who were a Top Ten team all season, finished the season as the NCAA FCS runners-up with a 13-3 record. Towson set a school record with its 13 victories and is one of only 10 schools in NCAA college football to win 13 or more games.

Seeded seventh in the NCAA FCS playoffs, the Tigers enjoyed a very impressive run to their first appearance in the NCAA FCS championship game in Frisco, Texas. After finishing the regular season with a 9-2 record, the Tigers earned a berth in the championship game with a 48-28 win over No. 9 Fordham, a 49-39 victory over No. 2 Eastern Illinois and a 35-31 win over No. 3 Eastern Washington.

En route to their 13-3 record, the Tigers posted a remarkable 9-0 record on the road.

The Tigers’ Lambert Meadowlands Award comes only three years after Towson posted a 1-10 record. In 2011, Towson was the most improved FCS team in the nation with a 9-3 record and the Colonial Athletic Association championship. Last season, the Tigers shared the CAA title and had a 7-4 mark.

“It is a tremendous honor to be the recipients of this year’s Lambert Meadowlands FCS award,” said Ambrose, the Tigers’ fifth-year coach. “The hard work and dedication of so many Tiger football family members has once again garnered our program and the institution of Towson University great respect.”

Towson finished first in the Lambert Meadowlands FCS Award standings, ahead of Fordham (12-2), New Hampshire (10-5), Maine (10-3), Harvard (9-1), Princeton (8-2), Villanova (6-5), William & Mary (7-5), Lehigh (8-3) and Sacred Heart (10-3).

Although this is Towson’s first Lambert Meadowlands FCS award, the Tigers won three Lambert Meadowlands Awards as a Division II program in the 1980’s. The Tigers were honored in 1983 (10-2), 1984 (9-4-1) and 1986 (8-3-1).

In the other divisions, Penn State University (7-5) won the Football Bowl Subdivision Lambert Meadowlands Award while West Chester University (13-2) earned the Division II honor. St. John Fisher College (10-3) won the Division III Lambert Meadowlands Award.

Established in 1936 as the Lambert Trophy to recognize supremacy in Eastern college football, the award has since grown to recognize the best team in the East in the Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS). In 1957, the Lambert Cup was created to recognize non-Division I-A teams, and in 1966 a Division III award was added. In 1983, the Lambert family decided the Meadowlands Sports Complex would be the best organization with a sincere and involved interest in college athletics to sponsor and manage the award, and since that time, the awards have been known as the Lambert Meadowlands Awards.

To be eligible for the Lambert Meadowlands Award, a school must be located in the East or play at least half of its schedule against eligible Lambert teams. The territory includes New York, New Jersey, New England and Pennsylvania, while teams in the bordering states of Delaware, Maryland, Virginia and West Virginia and the District of Columbia qualify if at least half of their schedule features eligible teams.

Teams in Eastern-based football conferences, regardless of location, qualify if at least half their schedule is against Lambert eligible teams.

Final Division I FCS Lambert Poll 

1.        Towson                     13-3

2.      Fordham                   12-2

3.       New Hampshire        10-5

4.      Maine                       10-3

5.      Harvard                    9-1

6.       Princeton                 8-2

7.       Villanova                  6-5

8.      William & Mary         7-5

9.       Lehigh                      8-3

10.    Sacred Heart            10-3