Dunbar’s Lawrence Smith Named Ravens High School Coach of the Year

December 11, 2007 | WNST Staff

Lawrence Smith, head football coach at Dunbar High School, has been
named the 2007 Ravens High School Coach of the Year. Presented by
Toyota, this is the 11th year of the Ravens’ award program that honors
Baltimore-area high school coaches who have made a significant impact on
their athletes.

Smith led Dunbar to a Class 1A state title on Saturday (12/8), defeating
8-time state champ Allegany 58-34 and capping an undefeated 14-0 season.
Though the Poets were defending their title, they played with something
to prove. With an impassioned crowd leading them on, they were not to be
stopped. Dunbar scored touchdowns on 5 of its first 6 possessions. QB
Jonathan Perry threw 11-of-20 for 235 yards, with 3 touchdowns to WR
Sean Farr. RB Tavon Austin ran for 3 touchdowns of 10, 59 and 32 yards.
Austin had an 82-yard TD run negated by an illegal motion penalty and a
30-yd TD catch negated by penalty.

Allegany mustered all it could, but the team could not stop the Poets.
The offense was on fire, and the defense joined in on the action, as
well, with Dunbar DB Michael McNeil returning a Campers’ fumble 80 yards
for the score.

In its four playoff games this season, Dunbar scored 186 points, a new
state record.

This win marks back-to-back state championships for Dunbar, as head
coach Ben Eaton led the Poets to a title in 2006. Eaton passed away
suddenly on Aug. 27, right before the start of the 2007 season. In
attendance to hoist the championship trophy were Eaton’s wife, Sandra,
and son Ben, Jr.

Lawrence Smith said earlier this year, “Our whole season is dedicated in
honor of Coach Eaton.”

Smith earned the Ravens High School Coach of the Week nod in week 1,
when his Poets defeated Gwynn Park, 27-6. He is in his eighth year of
coaching overall.

Each of the season’s weekly Ravens High School Coach of the Week winners
was present at the Ravens vs. Colts game on Dec. 9 for the naming of the
Ravens High School Coach of the Year.

A panel of area high school experts selected the coach of the week and
year. The recipients received the following:

* A $2,000 donation to the school’s football program
* An award certificate signed by Ravens head coach Brian Billick,
NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell, and Gene Washington, the NFL’s Director
of Football Development
* A specially-designed hat

As the 2007 Ravens High School Coach of the Year, Lawrence Smith
received an additional $4,000 donation towards Dunbar’s football

The Ravens High School Coach of the Year Award has been a fixture in
youth athletics since 1997. Previous recipients include Augie Waibel of
Poly (1997), Nick Arminio of Eastern Technical (1998), Pete Pompey of
Edmondson-Westside (1999), Dominic Damico of McDonogh (2000), Steve
Turnbaugh of Hereford (2001), Dave Eubank of Dundalk (2002), Gene Brown
of South Carroll (2003), Ben Eaton of Dunbar (2004), Brad Wilson of
Westminster (2005) and Dante Jones of Edmondson-Westside (2006).

2007 Ravens HS Coach of the Week Recipients

Week 1 Lawrence Smith Dunbar

Week 2 Doug DuVall Wilde Lake

Week 3 Brian Abbott Loyola Blakefield

Week 4 Steve Turnbaugh Hereford

Week 5 Jeff Oeming North Carroll

Week 6 Skip Hartley Digital Harbor

Week 7 Chip Armstrong Mount St. Joseph

Week 8 Marc Mesaros Eastern Tech

Week 9 Roger Wrenn Baltimore Polytechnic

Week 10 Brian Van Deusen River Hill

CONGRATS again to all the coaches!!
Thanks to Melanie LeGrande, from the Ravens for all this information!!

*Need to contact me- e-mail : Sociallyspeakinganne@comcast.net