Maryland, Hopkins players receive Big Ten lacrosse honors

May 01, 2018 | WNST Staff


ROSEMONT, Ill. – The 2018 Big Ten men’s lacrosse All-Conference teams and individual award winners were announced on Tuesday, with Maryland’s Connor Kelly earning Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year honors from the conference’s coaches. The Scarlet Knights’ Michael Rexrode was tabbed the Defensive Player of the Year, Penn State’s Gerard Arceri earned Specialist of the Year honors, while the Buckeyes’ Justin Inacio was named Freshman of the Year. Maryland’s John Tillman and Ohio State’s Nick Myers received Big Ten Co-Coach of the Year honors.

Kelly led the Big Ten with 5.08 points per game. The senior averaged 2.77 goals, 2.31 assists and 9.38 shots per outing. He enters the postseason with 36 total goals, 30 assists and 66 points.

Rexrode scooped up 23 groundballs and caused seven turnovers during the regular season, helping anchor a Rutgers defensive unit that allowed just 8.91 goals per game in conference play.

Arceri currently leads the Big Ten with 10.36 groundballs per game and faceoff percentage (.681). Arceri was a six-time Big Ten Specialist of the Week honoree this season.

Inacio ranks third in the Big Ten in groundballs per game (3.31) and faceoff percentage (.601). Inacio claimed Big Ten Freshman of the Week and Big Ten Specialist of the Week honors once during the regular season.

Tillman led Maryland to 11 regular-season wins and the outright Big Ten Championship with a 4-1 conference record. The title marks Maryland’s fourth conference championship. The top-seeded Terrapins enter the Big Ten Tournament having won six of their last seven games and are ranked No. 2 in the USILA coaches’ poll.

Myers mentored Ohio State to an 8-6 overall record, and a third place Big Ten finish with a 3-2 conference record. The No. 3-seeded Buckeyes enter the Big Ten Tournament having won three games in a row, including defeating then-No. 1 ranked Maryland. Ohio State is currently ranked No. 15 in the USILA coaches’ poll.

The All-Big Ten first team features Johns Hopkins’ Joel Tinney, Maryland’s Connor Kelly and Jared Bernhardt, Michigan’s Brent Noseworthy, Ohio State’s Ryan Terefenko and Ben Randall, Penn State’s Gerard Arceri and Mac O’Keefe and Rutgers’ Jules Heningburg and Michael Rexrode.

The Big Ten also announced six Sportsmanship Award Honorees. The students chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, the students must be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting. This season’s honorees are Johns Hopkins’ Brinton Valis, Maryland’s Adam DiMillo, Michigan’s Parker McKee, Ohio State’s John Kelly, Penn State’s Tripp Traynor and Rutgers’ Casey Rose.

The complete list of All-Conference honorees and individual award winners is below.

First Team All-Big Ten

Joel Tinney, Johns Hopkins, Midfield, Sr.

Jared Bernhardt, Maryland, Attack, So.

Connor Kelly, Maryland, Midfield, Sr.

Brent Noseworthy, Michigan, Midfield, Jr.

Ben Randall, Ohio State, Defense, Sr.

Ryan Terefenko, Ohio State, Midfield, So.

Gerard Arceri, Penn State, Midfield, So.

Mac O’Keefe, Penn State, Attack, So.

Jules Heningburg, Rutgers, Attack, Sr.

Michael Rexrode, Rutgers, Defense, Sr.

Second Team All-Big Ten

Patrick Foley, Johns Hopkins, Defense, Jr.

Shack Stanwick, Johns Hopkins, Attack, Sr.

Cole Williams, Johns Hopkins, Attack, So.

Curtis Corley, Maryland, Defense, Jr.

Dan Morris, Maryland, Goalie, Sr.

Bryce Young, Maryland, Defense, Sr.

Tre LeClaire, Ohio State, Attack/Midfield, So.

Colby Kneese, Penn State, Goalie, So.

Chris Sabia, Penn State, Defense, Jr.

Christian Mazzone, Rutgers, Midfield, Sr.

Offensive Player of the Year: Connor Kelly, Maryland, Midfield, Sr.

Defensive Player of the Year: Michael Rexrode, Rutgers, Defense, Sr.

Freshman of the Year: Justin Inacio, Ohio State, Midfield

Specialist of the Year: Gerard Arceri, Penn State, Midfield, So.

Co-Coach of the Year: John Tillman, Maryland & Nick Myers, Ohio State

Sportsmanship Honorees

Brinton Valis, Johns Hopkins, Midfield, Sr.

Adam DiMillo, Maryland, Midfield, Sr.

Parker McKee, Michigan, Midfield, Sr.

John Kelly, Ohio State, Midfield, Sr.

Tripp Traynor, Penn State, Midfield, Sr.

Casey Rose, Rutgers, Midfield, Jr.