Maryland standouts J. Smith, Cowan receive first-team All-Big Ten honors

March 09, 2020 | WNST Staff


ROSEMONT, Ill. (March 9, 2020) – First Team All-Big Ten selections Jalen Smith and Anthony Cowan Jr. highlighted a string of conference awards for the Maryland men’s basketball team, as announced Monday afternoon by the Big Ten Conference.

In addition to Smith and Cowan, Aaron Wiggins was announced Maryland’s first-ever Big Ten Sixth Man of the Year, while Darryl Morsell earned Honorable Mention All-Big Ten from the media. Smith was also named to the All-Defensive Team.

Smith and Cowan are just the fifth Maryland duo in program history to earn First Team All-Conference honors, joining Melo Trimble and Dez Wells (2014-15), Lonny Baxter and Juan Dixon (1999-00), Steve Francis and Terence Morris (1998-99) and Len Elmore and John Lucas (1973-74).

Maryland has had a player on the Big Ten First Team four out of its six seasons in the conference.

Smith was voted First Team All-Big Ten by both the coaches and media. His defensive team nod marked the third straight season Maryland had a player on the team (Bruno Fernando, Cowan). Smith has totaled 21 double-doubles on the season, which ranks third nationally.

Cowan was voted First Team All-Big Ten by coaches and Second Team All-Big Ten by media. Cowan is the first three-time all-conference selection for the Terps since Melo Trimble (2014-17). Cowan’s 172 made free throws this season ranks eighth nationally, and he recently broke Maryland’s program record for career free throws made.

Maryland returns to action Friday evening at approximately 9 pm in the quarterfinals of the Big Ten Tournament in Indianapolis. The Terps will play the winner of Penn State and Indiana/Nebraska.