Maryland to host Butler as part of 2017 Gavitt Tip-off Games

May 24, 2017 | WNST Staff


NEW YORK – The BIG EAST and Big Ten Conferences have announced the matchups for the third annual Gavitt Tipoff Games, with eight men’s basketball contests set for Nov. 13-17, 2017. Game times will be announced at a later date.

The Gavitt Tipoff Games is a unique early-season series played between the two conferences and named in honor of Hall of Famer Dave Gavitt, founder of the BIG EAST and basketball visionary. This year’s games will be televised on FS1 and BTN.

The annual series features battles between local foes and attractive intersectional matchups. Among the 16 participating schools, 11 played in the NCAA Tournament last year and two played in the NIT. Five of the games will feature matchups of teams coming NCAA berths. The 11 NCAA teams are: Minnesota, Providence, Purdue, Marquette, Butler, Maryland, Creighton, Northwestern, Seton Hall, Xavier and Wisconsin. The two NIT squads are Indiana and Illinois.

The 2017 Gavitt Tipoff Games schedule begins with Minnesota traveling to Providence on Monday, Nov. 13.

On Tuesday, Nov. 14, Marquette hosts Purdue. Three games are slotted for Wednesday, Nov. 15 – Butler at Maryland, Creighton at Northwestern and Indiana at Seton Hall.

The slate for Thursday, Nov. 16, includes a pair of contests, Xavier at Wisconsin and Nebraska at St. John’s.

The Gavitt Tipoff Games concludes with DePaul traveling to Illinois on Friday, Nov. 17.

The complete 2017 Gavitt Tipoff Games schedule follows:

Monday, Nov. 13

Minnesota at Providence – FS1

Tuesday, Nov. 14

Purdue at Marquette – FS1

Wednesday, Nov. 15

Butler at Maryland – FS1 or BTN

Creighton at Northwestern – FS1 or BTN

Indiana at Seton Hall – FS1

Thursday, Nov. 16

Nebraska at St. John’s – FS1

Xavier at Wisconsin – FS1

Friday, Nov. 17

DePaul at Illinois — BTN

Scheduled through 2022, the Gavitt Tipoff Games will be played on consecutive days in the first full week of the college basketball season. The series will span eight years, with games played at home sites. Each BIG EAST team will participate a minimum of six times, while Big Ten programs will take part a minimum of four times. Teams from both conferences already meet in some traditional rivalry games, and those matchups will continue in the upcoming seasons.

The distinctive series between the two conferences is named to honor the late Gavitt, who had a profound and lasting influence on the sport of basketball at the collegiate, professional and Olympic levels. He was inducted into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame in 2006.