Maryland’s Layman added to Malone Award watch list

February 17, 2015 | WNST Staff


SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – Junior forward Jake Layman has been named one of sixteen watch list members for the 2015 Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award, announced Tuesday.

Named after Hall of Famer and two-time NBA Most Valuable Player Karl Malone, the annual honor, in its inaugural year, recognizes the top power forwards in Division I men’s college basketball. A national committee comprised of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 16 candidates.

Layman has scored in double-figures in 23 games this season and is sixth in rebounding (6.6), 15th in scoring (13.5), and 12th in field goal percentage (.496) in the Big Ten through 26 games. He has four double-doubles in 2014-15, including a 21-point, 11-rebound performance at now-No. 21 Oklahoma State.

By early March, the current list of 16 finalists for the 2015 Karl Malone Award will be narrowed down to five players. The final five players in contention for the award will be presented to Mr. Malone and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. The winner of the 2015 Karl Malone Award will be presented at ESPN’s new College Basketball Awards presented by Wendy’s from Club Nokia in Los Angeles, CA on Friday, April 10, 2015. The Awards will be televised live on ESPN2 at 8:00pm EST.

For more information on the 2015 Karl Malone Award, log onto

2015 Karl Malone Award Candidates

Rondae Hollis-Jefferson, University of Arizona

Justin Moss, University at Buffalo

Kevon, Looney, UCLA

Kyle Wiltjer, Gonzaga University

David Laury, Iona College

Aaron White, University of Iowa

Georges Niang, Iowa State University

Perry Ellis, University of Kansas

Jordan Mickey, Louisiana State University

Montrezl Harrell, University of Louisville

Jake Layman, University of Maryland

Christian Wood, UNLV

Seth Tuttle, University of Northern Iowa

Myles Turner, University of Texas

Larry Nance Jr., University of Wyoming

Rico Gathers, Baylor University